Carrier mywi IOS 7 at&t tethering detection 2014

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cbielich, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. cbielich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    #1
    Anyone recently get any notifications from att for using mywi with IOS7?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Nothing so far but I don't use it that much.
    No matter what you use its a risk with unofficial tethering on AT&T.
     
  3. EDiTOR9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Location:
    South Bay, CA
    #3
    I'm within three months of my contract with AT&T ending so I am using it like a madman and so far no notices from AT&T.
     
  4. ScootPatoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    A little off topic as I am using TetherMe. I have AT&T unlimited and though I haven't received any notices I am already past the 5 GB limit with 17 days left in my billing cycle and they are throttling the hell out of me.

    I didn't think I was using it too much but I guess it adds up quite quickly.
     
  5. marvel2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    Is there a way you can tell that they are throttling your data speeds? Other than the fact that it "feels" slow?
     
  6. oplix macrumors 65816

    oplix

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #6
    You can install the hacked carrier file from iostweaks.com

    Run a speed test before and after to determine if your carrier is capping you
     
  7. ScootPatoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    What does a hacked carrier file do for you? Does it actually prevent throttling? Forgive my ignorance, just unfamiliar with this.
     
  8. marvel2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    Ha..I think its a good question. What does it do?
     
  9. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #9
    I haven't used TetherMe since 2011-2012 on my 4S. They sent me a warning back then with my unlimited plan.

    How long will that warning stay on record?
     
  10. kwiky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #10
    You mean http://www.itweakios.com/downloads
     
  11. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #11
    You could try using a VPN on your remote devices to mask the traffic.
     
  12. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #12
    know any good VPN services?
     
  13. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #13
    I use private internet access. They keep zero logs and shared IPs, so nearly impossible to track if you want privacy etc. 6.95 a month.
     
  14. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #14
    Have you tried hotspot shield?
     
  15. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
  16. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #16
    yes its called mywi 7. working great.
     
  17. lolkthxbai macrumors 65816

    lolkthxbai

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    #17
    For a little more I could just pay for proper tethering without all the trouble. But that's just me.
     
  18. robotphood macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #18
    I'm guessing forever. I got one years ago too. I haven't heard of anyone that got a warning pushing it.

    Would a VPN get around their detection? I already pay for a VPN. Tethering would be useful in some cases.
     
  19. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #19
    I installed it and it removed all of my folder organization. I had everything organized into nice clean folders and when I installed MyWi, it scattered all my icons so now I have to reorganize everything back into folders. Since this new JB came out this has happened a couple times. :-(
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Weird, that never happened to me when installed MyWi or any times I updated it.
    Maybe another package is conflicting and causing it?
     
  21. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #21
    I dunno, but it's annoying :-(
     
  22. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #22
    Do you have icon support installed? Any tweak that alters the springboard layout?
     
  23. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #23
    I have HomeScreen Designer so I can have 5 columns of 5 icons, and i have Bigify installed so I can shrink down the size of the icons so they look better.

    Is there a better solution?
     
  24. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #24
    Is iconsupport installed? And are you on one of the 7.1 betas?
     
  25. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #25
    I think iconsupport is installed, how can i tell? I feel like I've seen iconsupport popups, but not sure, It's not listed in installed in cydia nor do i even see iconsupport in any of the cydia repos.

    No, I'm on 7.0.4
     

Share This Page