Nano-SIM Card Switch

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cadewii, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. cadewii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #1
    OK. for the new iPhone 5 i cannot upgrade yet, but my brother can. Now i am wondering if I can/should pre-order the new iPhone under his number, then when it comes in, call ATT and tell them to switch my SIM card Data to the new Nano-SIM in the new iPhone and then switch my brothers SIM data to a Micro-SIM? Would this be able to work? Are the claims of cutting now a micro SIM card real? Any help would be appriciated thanks!
     
  2. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    I'm sure you will be able to cut the sim cards just like in the past. When you get the new phone, it comes with a SIM but is unactivated. When you call to activate it just use your information.
     
  3. cvaldes macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    somewhere else
    #3
    This is a little premature. We don't know what type of SIM the new, unannounced device will have.

    However, if it is a nano SIM, there's a good chance the card cutting trick won't work. The nano SIMs are actually thinner than the previous ones (regular SIM, mini SIM, micro SIM). This is the first time the telecom industry has changed the thickness of the SIM card.

    Most likely you will have to bring the phones into an AT&T store and they would issue new SIMs (nano, micro, whatever) there.

    There will be more information after the device is announced, any speculation right is like spinning your wheels in the sand.
     
  4. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    All I've ever done when switching phones is use the sim that comes with it. I activate the new phone through iTunes and throw away the old sim card.
     
  5. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    this. When you order a phone it comes with a deactivated SIM so there is no need to make the trip to your carrier.
     
  6. cadewii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #6
    Sim

    Ok I know i've done it multiple times for all the previous iPhones. So when i pre-order I'll use mt bro's number, when the phone comes in then through iTunes i use MY information? Do i just restore from the previous phone or do i set-up as a new phone? This probably isn't as difficult as i'm making it out to be, but i just want to be certain. Thanks for all the help too guys
     
  7. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #7
    Presumably you're talking about a carrier subsidised iPhone and in the US, where it's pretty much AT&T or Verizon?

    I got my 4 from Apple in London (bought outright, so it's SIM Free and unlocked) and no SIM came in the phone/box).
     
  8. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    Yes, I was talking US only.
     
  9. forcetactic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #9
    Yeah I'm hoping they either don't use nano sim or have some way of cutting a micro sim down. Currently on a prepaid that only offers normal sims lol (which I cut to micro)
     

Share This Page