NAS Media server Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by maflynn, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    I just picked up 2TB BlackArmor NAS 220 and it appears to be a decent selection. Easy to set up and works well enough.

    I just copied my music library over to a share on the drive and set up media streaming. Is there any reason to keep the music on my Mac at this point? I assume I''ll need to rebuild the playlists to point to the music on the BlackArmor device.

    Also will there be any issues syncing my phone and itunes if I keep my music on the NAS? That is will the music come over fine or are there constraints with syncing with a media server?

    The only disappointment I have at the moment is that Aperture's Library will not support being hosted on the NAS. I guess I should have done more research before pulling the trigger. I got the drive to back up my wife's PeeCee as well so the need was there.
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    iTunes could have moved the files over itself using the Consolidate Library step. Since you already moved it, try moving your Mac-side music collection to a random non-sub folder (to your desktop, so iTunes can't find it). Then try to play a song. It'll say that it can't find the file, and ask you to browse to it. iTunes then should take a few minutes to Update Library by itself to relink according to the old directory structure. Make sure to change the iTunes folder location to the NAS location in Preferences.

    Edit: For the syncing questions, no there shouldn't be any difference.

    As far as Aperture, I have my entire library (not just masters) stored on my NAS. What problems were you having when you tried this?
     
  3. maflynn, Jul 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011

    maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    The problem with aperture is I get the following error:
    "The library could not open because the file system of the Library's volume is unsupported"

    I'm wondering as a way around this, if I can create a disk image and place my library in the dmg
     
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    Hmm. What protocol are you using to connect to your NAS - AFP, SMB?
     
  5. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I'm not sure, using seagate's own black armor app to mount the drive. I'm assuming it's smb. Let me see if I can try afp
     
  6. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Sounds really obvious, but check the file system your NAS is using. Aperture only allows HFS+ volumes (ie: default Mac), but lots of NAS boxes either use a custom file system or NTFS.
     
  7. maflynn, Jul 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011

    maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    That's what I was thinking. The software doesn't really allow me to check the format. I'll do more googling to see what options I have with this particular device.

    I think I'm just going to box this up and get one that is more flexible. I've been doing more reading on this stuff and it looks like I want to get either a QNAP (a bit pricey) or Synology

    I'm liking the QNAP but I think that might be over-kill and its going to run me 350 where as the synology is 199.
     

Share This Page