NAS Server/RAID backup drives

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by 7enderbender, Mar 30, 2014.

1. 7enderbender macrumors 6502a

7enderbender

I'm looking for a suggestions from people who have been through this process already.

I'm still new to all things Mac and Apple so bear with me. I'm in the process of switching everything (with a few exceptions) over to Macs in the house. Started off with a Mac Mini for myself and just ordered a Macbook Pro 13" retina for my wife's work related stuff. Next will be another desktop (probably an iMac for her) and a MacBook for myself at some point.

Long story short: I'll soon need a new backup solution for those 4 Macs (plus other non Macs occasionally). What I want is something with a RAID system for redundancy, 4 bays would be a good start, and at the same time something that would allow for remote access as basic server solution.

With that I'm looking to have one pair of bays to back up the time machine backups from the Macs and a second pair to give myself and a good friend remote access to for storage from outside the network (he'll do the same on his end so that we both create additional redundancy for the very very important files in case of theft, fire, etc).

Synology seems like a good company. The 411slim looks appealing as a value solution but I'm concerned if the 2.5" drives have enough capacity in those. The 414 seems good but is more than I wanted to spend on the device (not considering the drives themselves).

Any suggestions? And does a device like that even do what I want it to do? Important are 100% TimeMachine compatibility, reliable RAID redundancy, at least four bays and easy to use server/cloud functionality (via FTP is ok also).

2. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

You still have to backup the RAID array. RAID is not a backup.

How much space do you need? A DS214play is a nice media NAS. It also has a esata port for easy backup to an external drive.

3. 7enderbender, Mar 30, 2014