Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DCWolfie

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 5, 2010
So I have a problem with my NAS just giving me around 10-15MB/s write and ~20MB/s read. This is a WD EX2 with two WD RED 4TB discs. I've done a lot of troubleshooting, but now I'm completely lost.

Connecting the unit directly to a computer with an Ethernet cable gives speeds of over 100MB/s, so the unit itself is fully capable. The router is a high-end router with gigabit ports (LYNX 9000, from Jensen Scandinavia) so it should be capable as well, so is my computers. Googling the problem shows me that people are capable of getting 70-90MB/s.

I've also tried different protocols. SMB2 (which is the standard for Finder), AFS and NFS, where NFS gives me the best speed (25MB/s) and the rest is the same.

I'm not that experienced with networking, but would really like to get better speed from my NAS. Does anyone here have any tips what I could do to solve this?

techwarrior

macrumors 65816
Jul 30, 2009
Colorado
Network speeds are measured in MegaBits per second, 100Mbps is about 12.5 MegaBytes per second.

You want to speed it up, get 1Gbps ethernet routers and\or switches and Cat5e or better cables. That will increase network speeds to around 125 MegaBytes per second.

Most PC and Mac have had 1Gbps ethernet for many years, so likely you have inferior cables or switches on your network that are dialing down the ethernet speeds.

WD Red NAS drives can read\write at 300-350 MB\s (2.4 - 2.8Gbps), so network is your bottleneck. The slower link in the route will dictate performance speeds.

If 125 MB\s (1Gbps) is not fast enough for your needs, 10Gbps ethernet, though costly, may help.

DCWolfie

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 5, 2010
Network speeds are measured in MegaBits per second, 100Mbps is about 12.5 MegaBytes per second.
First of all, thanks for answering!