NASA Photos - How did they do it?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by robemich, Jan 10, 2010.

1. robemich macrumors member

I am huge fan of the old NASA photos. Take a look a the photo from the following link.

Amazing color and amazing exposure. I am really looking to create this same look and feel through digital. I have an old Nikon D70, iPhoto and PSE 8.0.

Could anyone recommend any techniques, methods or tutorials that might help? I figured the first thing I needed to do was a get a hold of some old space suits and build a rocket gantry in my back yard. Thx.

-mike

2. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

3. robemich thread starter macrumors member

Excellent point on the flash.

How about this one though?

Are the colors achieved because actual film was used? Sorry, I have no experience with film, other than scanning in some old negatives from my family archives.

-mike

4. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

Yeah it's due to film something you can duplicate in photoshop.

5. SLC Flyfishing Suspended

SLC Flyfishing

It's a vintage look, and I think it probably is due in part to the film used, but even more because of the (relatively) crappy glass that was available at the time. Lens coatings and different formulas for optical glass along with different types of elements that are commonly used now create a much different color rendition than older lenses.

You can replicate this look in Photoshop, but I'd also look into finding some vintage 1960's F mount primes for your D70, you might get some luck there as well and you won't spend much on the lenses.

I'm not sure if the D70 requires these old lenses to be AI-S converted before mounting, you'll want to check into that first.

SLC

6. joepunk macrumors 68030

joepunk

You will have to get those old lenses (pre-ai/non-ai) converted to work on your d70. Otherwise, mounting non-AI lenses on bodies with an AI coupler tab will cause damage to the tab.