Native app for iPhone with php / MySQL

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dubya1964, Oct 20, 2008.

1. Dubya1964 macrumors newbie

Hi there,

I'm completely new to the Mac-environment so bare with me if I seem to be asking stupid questions...

I'm thinking about making A NATIVE APP for the iPhone (meaning: something users can buy in the Applestore and use on their iPhone) with the SDK.

This app should:
    - let users login with a username and password to a online database which is stored on a webserver
    - retrieve data from this online database and display it on their iPhone
    - manipulate/alter the retrieved data on the iPhone
    - send the manipulated/altered data back to the database for storage.
    - logoff users from the database

And all of the above should be done by the use of PHP/MySQL.
    For the sake of clarity: the database IS NOT LOCATED in/on the iPhone (I've seen tutorials with databases and SQLite but -unless I'm totally wrong- these DB's seem to be stored on the iPhone).

So, any wise thougts from you guys: can such an app be built with the SDK?

Love to hear from you.

Thanks & cheers,

Dubya1964

ps: and uhm... can people with hacked iPhones buy apps from the webstore? Just to give you an idea: estimates say that there are about 15.000 hacked iPHones in use in Belgium vs. 4000 official iPhones (sold on first day of the launch, stocks are now on 0)

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

SDK based native apps that get installed on the phone can only be written with Objective-C. No other languages, including PHP, can be used.

3. DrummerB macrumors member

You'll have to write your native app in Objective-C. But you can connect to a MySQL DB on your webserver using PHP.

4. Dubya1964 thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok, now I'm really puzzled!

First of all: thanks to DrummerB and robbieduncan for taking the time to answer my questions.

But (yep, there's always a but) now I've got 2 opposite opinions on my lap.