Nav GeForce 7300 GT enough for 27" ACD?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Noctilux.95, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. Noctilux.95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #1
    I have a three year old Mac Pro that came with a 256MB Navida GeForce 7300 video card. Do I have enough video memory to run the new Apple 27" ACD at maximum resolution?

    Also is the new 27" any better than the ACD 24"?

    Thanks!
     
  2. csnplt macrumors 6502

    csnplt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #2
    Yeah, that should definitely work. Even Macbooks with integrated graphics can drive it.
     
  3. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #3
    Do you have the power? Yes.

    Do you have the ability? No s'much. The 27" ACD only accepts Mini DisplayPort in - which means you'll have to buy a >$200 adapter to convert the DVI output of your GPU to MiniDP.
     
  4. bitfactory macrumors 6502

    bitfactory

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #4
  5. goochrules macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #5
    I have a MacBookPro 4,1 with GeForce 8600M GT, 27" Cinema Display, and Atlona AT-DP400. The setup works great, except I can't get the external display resolution to go any more than 2240x1260.

    I don't know if this is a problem with the monitor, adapter, laptop or the OS X 10.5.8 I am running.

    I'd love to know your results if you get the atlona adapter.
     
  6. csnplt macrumors 6502

    csnplt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #6
    Atlona's website states that that adapter works with the 27'' Cinema Display at full resolution. Given that, I'd guess that this is related to 10.5.8.

    Technically, the cinema display 27'' requires 10.6.4. Snow Leopard is only $30 and brings a lot of improvements, so you may want to try upgrading.

    Your laptop should be more than powerful enough to power a 2560x1440 monitor.
     
  7. goochrules macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #7
    That's the conclusion I'm coming to, or that the particular adapter I received is faulty.

    Agreed; I'm planning to upgrade at the end of the year.

    Any ideas why the 27" requires 10.6.4 when the 30" worked with 10.4?
     
  8. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #8
    There shouldn't be an issue with the display itself, but there might be issue with the iSight camera and speakers. You should be able to use the mini dp connector with any computer with the right ports, but you could run in to compatibility issues with the other tech in the display.
     
  9. goochrules macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #9
    The camera and speakers work just fine over the USB link. I haven't had any problems these (other than iChat has its own settings).

    I was able to test a newer MacBook Pro that has mini dp out with the 27"; it displayed 2560x1440 as expected, so I know its not the monitor.
     

Share This Page