Navigon 1.2 and iPod integration

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by sjdigital, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. sjdigital macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    The Caucasus
    #1
    I'm somewhat confused by the way Navigon have integrated the iPod controls into their app. What exactly is the purpose of the '+' sign beside each track? And the "Add All Songs" or "Add All Albums" options? Was there a reason not to use the normal iPod method of selecting what you want to hear? Methinks I'll stick to using Backgrounder when I want to have the iPod available. Or am I missing something?
     
  2. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #2
    It's for adding like a quick "Playlist" of want you want to listen to. That's what I use it for at least and am pretty sure that's what they meant for it to be for.
     
  3. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    I really dislike this kind of On The Go playlist implementation.
     
  4. sjdigital thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    The Caucasus
    #4
    Still not convinced by the need for this way of doing things. I guess playlists are handy on a long drive, but generally I just want to pick an album and this seems a strange way to have to do it.
     
  5. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #5
    I do find it odd that they don't just use the native interface (at least not completely) but after using it a bit I'm fine with it. One thing that I did find nice is that you can add an add all songs in an album, go back add another album (or just a few songs), as much as you want. It's a quick way to build a playlist of albums/songs while your in the car and ready to start a long drive.
     
  6. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    I think this is how all in-app music selection is...
     
  7. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #7
    Its because thats how the framework for iPod controls is written. The user has to select which songs to be played, all songs can not be selected by default. So, the 'need' for this way of doing it lies within the firmware, not Navigon's programmers. Bitch to Apple, maybe they will change it in a future firmware update.
     
  8. sjdigital thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    The Caucasus
    #8
    Thanks for the explanations guys. I guess I'll just stick with Backgrounder and control the iPod separately.
     
  9. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
  10. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #10
    All you have to do is start playing your music before going into Navigon. Then the in app iPod control stays the same as the normal iPod.
     
  11. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #11
    This is what I do. Select my playlist then start Navigon. You can still use the in app controls to skip tracks, etc.
     

Share This Page