Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

donm527

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 18, 2009
30
0
Anyone else noticing that 3D Panoramic view not working with iOS4?
Uninstalled and reinstalled the add-on then uninstalled the entire app and reinstalled the add-ons and still not working. works ok in 2D and 3D.
 

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
9,216
1,607
I have emailed navigon about the bug a week or so ago. They said they know and will be releasing a fix shortly.
 

Latte

macrumors newbie
Mar 27, 2008
24
10
Same here, plus another annoying thing:

Every time I start Navigon (since installing iOS4) I'm prompted to enter my iTunes password!
Anyone else get that? What's that about?

/Latte.
 

RoarinRow

macrumors 6502
Nov 10, 2009
261
36
Elk Grove, CA
Same here, plus another annoying thing:

Every time I start Navigon (since installing iOS4) I'm prompted to enter my iTunes password!
Anyone else get that? What's that about?

/Latte.

I got that too and I had to revert back to 3D to make Navigon workable.
 

St8kout

macrumors regular
May 17, 2010
151
0
This is not really pertaining to this thread, but I've got question about their website which I was browsing.

Where the hell are the prices for the various products, maps and whatever. They don't appear ANYWHERE on their website, not even under "Buy now" lol. Are the different maps for the US (east, central, west) free when you buy the basic app?
 

redlynr

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2010
1
0
Same here, plus another annoying thing:

Every time I start Navigon (since installing iOS4) I'm prompted to enter my iTunes password!
Anyone else get that? What's that about?

/Latte.

I think I solved this one as I experienced this issue also. With iOS multi-tasking, once the iPhone "store" app is opened, it stays in memory. I think this is what is asking for the password when Navigon is opened. I double clicked, then deleted the "store" from the active tasks, and now I don't get prompted for the password when starting Navigon anymore.

Unfortunately, I guess I'd need to repeat this many times since I've constantly been checking the store to see if the Navigon upgrade is available...
 

brupri

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2010
4
0
I think I solved this one as I experienced this issue also. With iOS multi-tasking, once the iPhone "store" app is opened, it stays in memory. I think this is what is asking for the password when Navigon is opened. I double clicked, then deleted the "store" from the active tasks, and now I don't get prompted for the password when starting Navigon anymore.

Unfortunately, I guess I'd need to repeat this many times since I've constantly been checking the store to see if the Navigon upgrade is available...
I tried the suggestion and still get the password pop up...hmmm
 

SooneratND

macrumors regular
Jun 27, 2009
158
0
I tried the suggestion and still get the password pop up...hmmm

I usually get that when I've tried to download something and it didn't finish. Every time is starts to download again, it prompts for the password. Once I let it finish, the message went away. Did you try to delete and redownload the program recently?
 

brupri

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2010
4
0
I usually get that when I've tried to download something and it didn't finish. Every time is starts to download again, it prompts for the password. Once I let it finish, the message went away. Did you try to delete and redownload the program recently?

It only happens after I launch Navigon. The program worked fine until I updated the iPhone OS to 4.0. Then I noticed when I launched the program, it opened to the last map view which was Panoramic. The screen was black and started populating with every POI available, filling the screen like winning Freecell but in reverse.
I disabled all the POIs and had to switch to 3D. I checked the extras page and noticed that only Traffic Live was checked so I restored Panorama View 3D. Now both are checked however since I didn't load these through iTunes, I'm not sure if there's any way to reinstall them except through the application itself. I do know that the Extras page appears to need 3G or Wifi access to view. Even though the app shows both extras installed (green check), I'll try removing and restoring again. Stay tuned...
 

brupri

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2010
4
0
Same here, plus another annoying thing:

Every time I start Navigon (since installing iOS4) I'm prompted to enter my iTunes password!
Anyone else get that? What's that about?

/Latte.
I've un-installed the app and reinstalled, still prompted for iTunes password. I am thoroughly frustrated and really disappointed with this purchase. There appears to be absolutely no customer support from the Navigon side of things, the Panoramic won't work until the "update" whenever that is, it's missing the majority of street names and it doesn't even recognize my street, 20th Ave NW in address entry. I have the impression that this company could care less and is laughing all the way to the bank. My Garmin1490 and MotoNav at least have company representatives you can eventually speak to. And...this is not some flashlight app that was 99 cents, it's $80.00 flippin' dollars!!!! plus the traffic and Panoramic add ons. :mad:
 

afd

macrumors 65816
Apr 12, 2005
1,112
266
Scotland
Wish I'd read this thread before I'd deleted naivigon and re-downloading and installing it, losing all my favourites in the process....
 

gloss

macrumors 601
May 9, 2006
4,811
0
around/about
This is not really pertaining to this thread, but I've got question about their website which I was browsing.

Where the hell are the prices for the various products, maps and whatever. They don't appear ANYWHERE on their website, not even under "Buy now" lol. Are the different maps for the US (east, central, west) free when you buy the basic app?

Why not try the App Store?
 

MattWylde

macrumors regular
Sep 17, 2009
162
0
I too have the exact same issues. The phone prompts me for my iTunes password and the 3D Panoramic View does not work. They do need to hurry with an update, but I will be patient and let them do their thing. I bought this app when it first came out and I haven't regretted it at all. It works brilliantly on my iPad (especially with the Full Force cydia app)! The people at Navigon have said that they are working on an update for iOS4 to include multi-tasking location services, which is a feature that I want even more so than the 3D Panoramic view! iOS4 has been out for 9 days. Let's give them a little time (hopefully not long...like tomorrow) and I'm sure we'll be pleased with what they deliver.
 

jerryjames

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2010
2
0
I got also these problems, I read that navigon update 1.6.0 will be ready in juli, i hope its tommorow because I'm going on vacation to Italy and it would be nice to see the route in panoramic 3D, in the Netherlands where i live is everything flat, but when i drive thru Germany and Austria to Italy finely can see how it looks...
 

zeeflyboy

macrumors regular
Apr 25, 2009
232
0
This is affecting me too..

I just bought the 3D panoramic view after getting my iphone 4 for a bit of eye-candy (my old 3G would never run it... it could barely run navigon itself lol) and lo and behold it doesn't frikkin work!


Hope the update comes soon.
 

Julien

macrumors G4
Jun 30, 2007
11,693
5,142
Atlanta
...Hope the update comes soon.

How ironic that Navigon has always been in the lead over TomTom and even had a pre iOS4 video touting the upcoming multi tasking version. iOS4 comes out and TomTom is actually ready with an update. So as of now Navigon talked the big talk but TomTom has done the walk.
 

jukie

macrumors newbie
Nov 1, 2009
6
0
When, oh when

Any word on the update? I've been using the updated, free MapQuest app. It's pretty nice, but I want multi-tasking navigon!
 

alain82

macrumors newbie
Oct 12, 2007
4
0
hello guys,
i'm sorry for reviving an old thread, but i'm having the same problem with "panorama 3d view" on my iphone5 (ios 6)...
it just doesn't work, it's exactly like the normal 3d view.
i was wondering if any of you figured out what the problem was back in 2010 ;) and how to solve it.
tried e-mailing navigon team, they said they will check it out...
thank you in advance!
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.