Navigon app extras

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by edtorious, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. edtorious macrumors 65816

    edtorious

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #1
    Are the Navigon's app extras like Traffic Live and Panorama View 3D worth it? What is the traffic live will do in terms of the direction guidance? Will it tell you there's a traffic ahead or you have to check for yourself and it will provide the traffic info? Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    You can either set the traffic side of things to automatically reroute you or ask if you want it to.

    3d is up to you does look nicer though.
     
  3. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #3
    Here's what I wrote about the traffic add-on in another thread.

    I have it set to consider traffic as it routes me, and reroute as necessary.
    I didn't buy the 3D add-on, because I don't need a purely cosmetic addition, but for me, traffic is a no-brainer.
     
  4. navguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #4
    if you travel in Metro areas w/ lots of traffic on the highways, then traffic is very useful. Mostly highway coverage, not sure how much surface road data it provides, if any.
     
  5. Regul8tR macrumors member

    Regul8tR

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #5
    I have both NAVIGON extras installed. The 3D Panorama View is cool visually but adds no extra utility to the app. Traffic, on the other hand, is an almost must. My experience with the traffic extra has been extremely positive.

    For example, when I'm on the highway/roadway and see that a major back-up is forming the NAVIGON app says, "One moment while I calculate the route based on traffic." Less than 30 seconds later it re-routes me to another highway/roadway and I'm flying.

    Very Happy with NAVIGON and both extras.
     
  6. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6
    Is the Traffic Live option for Navigon a one-time purchase or is it on a per year basis?

    Just found out that it's a one-time purchase. Certainly worth it now that it's 50% off.
     
  7. F123D macrumors 68040

    F123D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Del Mar, CA
    #7
    Just purchased both add-ons. Been waiting for them to go on sale, glad I did.
     
  8. normwood macrumors 6502a

    normwood

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    In a house...duh!
    #8
    I am downloading the Panorama view now. How long does this fricken' thing take?

    Steve
     
  9. TRazzy66 macrumors newbie

    TRazzy66

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    Consol Energy Center
    #9
    Over WIFI, it took me about 10 minutes or so.
     
  10. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #10
    Is that a one-time download of 500+MB or does it have to download that every time you run Navigon? I'm assuming it's just once. Also, is that 500+MB permanently stored locally on your device?
     
  11. fishepa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #11
    Yes, it's one time download, and it is stored on your device.
     
  12. Fedorov macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #12
    Also bought both here on UK version, good value at the current price.
     
  13. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #13
    Hahaha, I'm a Bostonian in LA too! And thanks for this write up you had, it literally made me purchase the traffic add on right now as it was on sale....so thanks....oh, paid the 4.99 for 3D VIEW too, just for kicks....it's a great NAV app for sure!
     
  14. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #14
    I assume if I delete navigon from my phone, and re add it later that I'll have to redownload the panorama view??(i'm thinking the 3d maps dont transfer to itunes?) just curious...gracias
     
  15. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #15
    Thank you for that. Still trying to decide if it's worth it (not the $4.99 but the 500+MB of additional space that it will take up on my phone). Is there a way to purchase the panorama view and not download it until you're going on a trip or whatever? Or can you download it when you purchase the add-on, delete the 500MB and then download it later when you want to use it? Space is at a premium on my phone so I'd like to keep that 500MB free until I actually need the panorama data.
     
  16. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #16
    Eaxactly what I want to know....i don't mind using the 500MB, just curious how it all works!
     
  17. Bear Hunter macrumors 6502a

    Bear Hunter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #17
    ????

    You can choose which map view you want displayed. If you don't want panorama simply choose 2D, or 3D.

    Edit: re read your post, now I understand what you are asking. If space is limited on your phone don't download it....it is just eye candy. As far as "deleting" it off your phone after a download, I don't believe there is a way to do that unless you restore the phone.
     
  18. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #18
    Exactly what I wanted to know. Thank you for that.
     
  19. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #19
    Yesterday I bought Navigon + 3D Panorama. Loaded it up on my iPhone 3G and tried it, worked great!

    Today I received my iPhone 4, did a setup using a restore of my 3G (which i had backup immediately before) and now I dont have the 3D Panorama on the iPhone 4. What gives?
     
  20. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #20
    Deleted the app from the iPhone 4 and re-intalled again, still no Panoramic 3D view.

    Turned on my 3G and I can confirm that I have indeed the Panoramic 3D view on that one.

    Tried to see if clicking Extras/Panorama 3D view on the iPhone 4 would allow me to download, but it only asks for my confirmation to buy it.

    Anyone encountered this same problem?

    Are the app extras limited per device, instead of per account??
     
  21. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #21
    I read their FAQ and saw the following:

    "Yes, the In App purchases have to be restored to your iPhone but your iTunes Store knows automatically which products were bought before so the restoration is free of charge. To retrieve already purchased products, tap on the “Restore Purchases” button under “More” →“Extras”."

    However, there is no Restore Purchases button, either on the 3G or the 4G. I'm lost on this one :confused:
     
  22. r6girl Administrator/Editor

    r6girl

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #22
    I encountered this same issue when upgrading from my iPhone 3GS to the iPhone 4 and setting it up as a new device and installing Navigon from scratch. If you select Purchase again, you will NOT be charged again. A PR manager from navigon confirmed this for me in this tweet.
     
  23. adster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #23
    So I purchased traffic and Panorama 3D for the iPhone 4 (it was cheap, why not?)

    Now, Navigon downloads the Panorama 3D (which takes hours, literally, and I'm on super fast Wifi!) and when it's done downloading, it starts downloading again. This has happened 3 times so far. A reboot, closing the icon, and uninstalling / reinstalling the app doesn't help.

    Any ideas? I haven't seen anyone else with this problem. Weird.
     
  24. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #24
    No. You have to download the 500MB of data every time you launch the app.
     
  25. der-kaiser macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Brisbane
    #25
    Traffic Live isn't available for Navigon Australia?
     

Share This Page