Navigon POI hell

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Kadman, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #1
    Most aspects of my Navigon use have been positive so far. However, I'm trill trying to figure out who the sadistic SOB was who developed the POI process! I'm having a heck of a time finding things. A "near me" search will turn up some things, but not others that are even closer, but if I start with "City Name" it will find the place that was closer (i.e. so I know it was in the database somewhere). I thought, "OK no biggie. I'll just use the Statewide search to eliminate issues of exactly where city boundaries lie. Well, the Statewide search can't really find much of anything. In fact, according to the Statewide search there isn't a Home Depot, Walmart, or Target in the entire state.

    Any thoughts? What could I be doing wrong? I have all options on as far as categories to find (sliders set to on) and as I said, if I do certain types of searches I can find things eventually, but it just doesn't make sense. I'm used to my Garmin where I can just search by name without first knowing the city. In fact, the area I live in is filled with lots of smaller cities and even as a native I'm not always sure exactly what city certain things might be located in. I have to be looking at this the wrong way. It really can't be this poorly designed, can it?
     
  2. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    I hate the POI in ANY GPS. I really wish Navigon had an option to use Google Maps for the POI. Plus, if you give up. You have to tap the back button a million times to get to the main page!

    On that note. I just got Navigon today and other than the POI. It seems to be a good app :D.
     
  3. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #3
    As the commercial says, 'There's an app for that."

    Between 'Where To' ($0.99 price ending today) and the built in Contacts app, I never even bother with Navigon's POI database.
     
  4. james4513 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    #4
    Navigon's POI's do suck. Used today. Then same lookup on my $2K car navigation and it sucked worse.
     
  5. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
  6. severe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #6
    yes, they all have their issues.

    Google Maps; works every time.
     
  7. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    So what you guys are saying is that you just use another app to find the address and copy the address and paste it into Navigon? Is it possible to paste an address that way?
     
  8. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #8
    Yes, just like copy and paste with most applications on the iPhone.
     
  9. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9
    Ok great, thanks. I was just wondering if it is possible to paste a whole address like that. I know with my standalone TomTom, you have to select the state, then the city, then type in the street name and number. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't set up this same way.
     
  10. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #10
    I do it just a bit different.

    I use Maps or Where To? to find the address. Then add it to Contacts. Then use Navigon's 'Contact' tab, and select that to navigate to.

    Most of the addresses are things that I want to save (like a business/customer) so it's no big deal to add to my contact list. If I don't want the address in my address book, I delete it.

    In conjunction with all this I have MobileMe, so all this syncs across all my devices in the background. Nice solution for the way I use all this in my business.
     
  11. severe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #11
    This is also what I do with Maps, in a pinch. However, I will go back and erase half of the new contacts I entered.

    I just gave the copy and paste method a try. It's much more convoluted. As a matter of fact, I cant see how it's done.

    I opened Maps, typed Costco, found a location, and had to tap Directions to be able to copy the address. It won't allow you to copy from the info page.

    Now that I reopen Navigon, there's nowhere to paste such an address because of the way Navigon has their address fields set up.

    Conclusion: Saving to contacts is the best workaround until there's a better method to search POI's.
     
  12. IBradMac macrumors 68000

    IBradMac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    Unless you don't have service... :rolleyes:
     
  13. m3coolpix macrumors 6502a

    m3coolpix

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #13
    Which usually means you are in an area where there aren't any POIs in the first place. :D
     
  14. Kadman thread starter macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #14
    This is a bit misleading because you can't simply paste an entire address. Just like a stand alone GPS it forces you to break up the various components of the address so it would take multiple cut & paste cycles (relaunching each time). Not really a usable option.
     
  15. Berek macrumors member

    Berek

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #15
    There is an app out there called FASTFOOD. .99c and it is really cool.
     
  16. severe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #16
    Post #11, Kad.
     

Share This Page