Navigon Update and Upcoming Apple Nav

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by stockcerts, Jul 3, 2012.

1. stockcerts macrumors 65816

I've been using Navigon for a few years now and have been mostly happy with it. It was nice getting the update today as it caught me by surprise. I think incorporating street view was a good idea!

I've been reluctant to update my maps as I'm planning on buying the next iPhone (hopefully it's coming soon) and I'm hoping the Apple navigation will be a good replacement for Navigon. I like the fact that you can control it with voice (thanks Siri).

Does anyone else have thoughts about transitioning off a product like Navigon or TomTom? I'll test drive the new Apple navigation and if I'm not happy with it I always have Navigon to fall back on. I think Navigon and TomTom both will need to do everything possible to keep their products noteworthy in light of the fact that the Apple navigation will be provided at no cost.

2. jcpb macrumors 6502a

Until Apple's Maps app is significantly polished by the time iOS 6 launches for everyone else AND has offline maps support, not really.

3. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

nuckinfutz

I have Navigon but if iOS 6 has decent Traffic, easy Siri access and solid Maps I'm deleting Navigon from my phone.

4. qubeofwar macrumors regular

It would be possible for them to coexist for a while, but one way or another, I believe the Apple Maps will outshine the 3rd party solutions

5. jcpb macrumors 6502a

Not a chance in hell unless Apple has OFFLINE MAPS support.

6. TJ61 macrumors 6502a

It will be interesting to see how this goes. On the one hand, I think Apple will try hard to impress folks with their maps -- the thought of being unfavorably compared to the map source that they dumped must keep them up at night.

But, offline maps must be a sore subject with their map app vendors -- that's really the one last value that the vendors provide. Will Apple be compelled to keep them happy by not offering offline maps?