Nay idea on Intel tower update?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bhodgson0739, Aug 7, 2007.

1. bhodgson0739 macrumors member

Hey all,

I was about to purchase the 2.66 duo intel tower today, when I saw the new imac was released. I'm a film student looking to the tower for muscle but also the ability to upgrade (I have a g4 imac that just won't cut it for video editing and obviously can't be upgraded).

Does anyone have an idea of Apple's past upgrade trends? I can't think when the towers' chips were upgraded... I don't think it was too long ago. Any indication because of the imac news today the towers might get upgraded/changed in the near future? I don't mind buying now and the towers getting upgraded 6 months down the road, I just don't want to buy now and they get updated in a few weeks.

I realize also this is all speculation, but anyone think they have a decent guess/idea?

Thanks!

2. timswim78 macrumors 6502a

timswim78

The chips were updated in April.

Lose that zero (g4) and get with a hero (Mac Pro)!

3. Muzzway macrumors regular

Well, the update in April was just to add an octo-core option... The regular Mac Pro hasn't seen an update in a year (exactly, as of today). Updates are coming, but it could be as late as January (or more).

4. cal6n macrumors 68000

cal6n

Everyone and his dog thinks they have a decent guess but they've all just been pissing in the wind! There should be an update soon but my feeling is that'll just be a minor speed-bump and some more RAM. I doubt you'll see the new chips and chipsets until next year and even then the improvements in real world performance won't be staggering.

5. suneohair macrumors 68020

suneohair

An option was added in April. That was all.

Harpertown and SS chipsets are due by the end of Q4. Which will offer more than a minor speed bump as they are 45nm and have 12MB in addition to higher clock speeds and lower cost. So you are quite wrong cal6n.