iPhone NCSettings 1.7.1 broke my data connection?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by gothamguy, Mar 6, 2013.

  1. gothamguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #1
    Been using NCSettings on my 4S (6.1, AT&T) for a week without issue. Today it showed an update to 1.7.1, which I installed. Now I have no cellular data connection even though it shows full bars and 4G.

    I know there were issues with the new 3G toggle but my question is how I undo the damage. I have reset network settings, done a hard reset, uninstalled NCSettings, etc. Nothing has helped.

    I did I search but didn't see any answers. Would anyone know how, short of a full restore (which I would love to avoid because I have had good luck with 6.1), to get things back in order?
     
  2. BumpyFlatline, Mar 6, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013

    BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #2
    You should find the most recent NCSettings thread I started. I think it's on page 3. There's a download link in that thread for the version 1.6.2. That's what I use without any problems. I have an AT&T 4S on 6.1.2. Since you're using a 4S on AT&T on iOS6, I STRONGLY recommend installing that 1.6.2 version and never updating. The dev has stopped developing NCSettings. I'm not gonna upgrade my NCSettings until/if a new dev takes over the project. NCSettings doesn't work correctly on AT&T 4S devices after version 1.6.2.

    Edit: Have you tried using the data toggle to turn it off and on several times to see if it will work? If not that, have you tried going into settings and just using the built in toggle found in settings>general>cellular? Try flipping that a few times to see if it comes back on. Either way, if I were you I'd install 1.6.2 and stay away from any and all updates until its working for everyone. This prolly won't happen unless someone else takes over the project.

    Edit again: If you're gonna install 1.6.2, make sure to first remove the currently installed version (1.7.1).

    Here's the link to the other thread...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1549678
     
  3. gothamguy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #3
    Thanks. I saw that thread. My problem is that even after uninstalling it and resetting everything, I still have no data connection (maybe EDGE, at best). Despite full bars and the 4G indicator, if I try to open the Accuweather app it says there is no Internet connection, web pages won't load, speed test just sits there waiting to ping, etc. is it possible that this thing actually broke my cellular data settings in a way that can't be undone without restoring? I would love to stay on 6.1 because I have seen such conflicting reviews of 6.1.2 and battery.

    And is there a way to install the older version without ifile?
     
  4. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    Have you tried going into settings and toggling data with the built in toggle? That should work.

    The only way to install the 1.6.2 version without iFile is to find a 3rd party repo which is hosting that specific version. But that comes with risks. Honestly, its better and safer to use ifile. Then after you're done, go into Cydia, go to NCSettings, and change the package settings so you can ignore all updates for now. This way, it won't always show at the top of the changes tab nor will Cydia have a badge indicator.

    Why don't you want to use iFile? You can install the package so very easily. Using safari, follow the link to the package download, tap on "open in iFile" then after iFile opens, tap on install. Once it finishes, respring/reboot your device. You are done. Wicked easy.

    (Obviously you won't be able to use NCSettings to respring so either reboot the device or use something to respring like springtomize.)
     
  5. gothamguy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #5
    Just trying to avoid all the stuff iFile installs that doesn't get removed even if I delete the package. Im trying to keep things to a minimum. But, I really have no choice assuming I can get my data connection back with reboots. It comes and goes right now.

    I appreciate the responses. I usually use my ipad as a guinea pig to make sure everything works before I install it on my phone, because the phone is much more critical. I didn't do that this time, and it was a huge mistake.
     
  6. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #6
    You're very welcome. Good luck and let me know if you have any questions or need any help.

    FYI, regarding iFile and the multiple packages, just take a screenshot of the packages before you confirm the installation. Then when you're done with iFile, refer to that photo and remove all the packages.
     
  7. gothamguy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #7
    Thanks again. After about 20 reboots it seems like my 4G (in AT&T-speak) is back. I installed the older version from that other thread and it seems to be working, although I am not going near the 3G toggle again.

    Total PIA. Only once before did I ever have a problem after installing something and it was back on 5.0, so I did a restore and started over without thinking twice. I just didn't want to tempt fate with 6.1.2 if I could avoid it, so I'm glad it wasn't necessary.
     
  8. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #8
    Yea I hear you. I'm glad I could help. If it means anything, I use the 3G toggle on my device and I have zero problems. On my 4S everything was working perfectly fine with version 1.6.2. When the dev updated ncsettings to 1.7 it was mainly for the iPhone 5 and the LTE toggle so he had to rewrite a bunch of the code which in the end, messed up the 3G toggle on the AT&T 4S. At least that's my understanding based on what I read in his twitter timeline and the changelog.

    Just throwing that out there. It should work as its supposed to but I COMPLETELY understand your hesitation. That 1.7 update literally drove me insane until I found the older, working version 1.6.2.
     

Share This Page