Need 240/256GB SSD for my 2009 4,1 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Noctilux.95, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. Noctilux.95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #1
    I'm a photographer who primarily uses PS CS5, and Aperture 3 with files from Canon 5D MK II (21MP) and Hasselblad HD40 (40MP)

    Currently own a Quad Core 2.66 with 16 Gigs of RAM, and an ATI 5770 Card.


    Thanks!


    PS: Are 6G SSD HD's a waste of money on Mac Pros?
     
  2. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    If you plan on buying a new computer and moving the 6G into it soon then maybe.
    Otherwise a waste of money and less stable than the SATA2 versions.
     
  3. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    I'm currently looking at a pair of 256GB Crucial M4 drives for my 09 rig to replace my aging and small Intel G1 SSDs. They are the best bang for the buck. And although they are Sata3, running a pair in RAID0 will get me some stupid sequential read/write performance - even on my bottlenecked Sata2 I/O. Then if I upgrade my Mac Pro in the next couple of years, these drives will slot in nicely to what will surely be Sata3.
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    Do you still need TRIM on those bad boys?
     
  5. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #5
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
  7. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #7
    I don't think so. They have built in idle time GC like most. Although TRIM doesn't work on RAID arrays, and there are plenty of folks using these in RAID0 without TRIM on PCs without issues.
     

Share This Page