Need 25' mini-dvi to HDMI cable, where can I get one, would this work?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Advance The Man, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #1
    Want to watch Hulu on Sony, Bravia 42" LCD. I would imagine the video would work with a mini-dvi to HDMI connector cable. However, how do you run the audio? Does this long of a run (25 feet) impact the video quality? Where would I find one?
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    Shouldn't be an issue, as there are 25' HDMI cables on the market. Just get a short mini-DVI-to-HDMI cable. For audio, I believe there are adapters that combine them.
     
  3. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    Well, I don't think you're going to find a mini-DVI to HDMI cable (since pretty much no one uses mini-DVI but Apple), but here's a good price on a 25 foot HDMI to DVI cable. Then get the mini-DVI to DVI adapter from Apple.

    You run the audio like you would any other audio...with a 3.5 mm cable coming from the Mac. Depending on how your TV is setup, you may have analog inputs "grouped" with digital inputs. For example, on my TV, Input 3 can be HDMI, analog, or any combination therein. So you could use a standard 3.5mm to RCA (red/white) cable, or you could get an optical cable (if your TV can accept optical TOSlink -- the squareish looking optical input) like this one; one end is the optical style that the Macs use and the other is the more common TOSlink on TVs and receivers.
     
  4. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #4
    Thanks. The audio suggestion...Looks like the only choice on audio out for the iMac is 3.5mm. How could you go from 3.5mm to an optical into the tv? I do have optical in on the tv.
     
  5. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #5
    A modern Mac's audio output actually doubles as both an analog stereo jack and an optical output. For example, I use a shorter version of that cable I linked you to between my Mac mini and the optical input on my receiver. Gives me 5.1 sound on files that have it.
     
  6. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #6
    Looks like the link you provided and seeing the picture, that is the small 3.5mm plug - thanks
     
  7. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #7
    After searching, I came back to your suggestion above and bought the 25' DVI - HDMI cable; the TOSlink cable and a MiniDVI to DVI adapter. Got the adapter from monoprice as well. Will follow-up when I received and test. Thanks
     
  8. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    The hdmi cord is THICK. Works great, however realized the optical on tv is optical out, so I don't have audio. Suppose there is plain RCA for the iMac?
     
  9. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #9
    Does your TV have a 3.5mm analog input for the DVI connection? If so, just get a long 3.5mm male-to-male.
     
  10. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #11
    I can't get the audio to work. I hooked up the 3.5 male to male. The DVI is connected, but the 3.5 cable is hooked into the 'PC' input on the tv. Any thoughts on how to get this to work? Is there a setting I have to do on the iMac?
     
  11. jnc macrumors 68020

    jnc

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Nunya, Business TX
    #12
    You have to use the input the TV demands for audio+video simultaneously. Think about it, you're going over HDMI, and your TV is not a monitor. It's expecting audio from the HDMI too. You'll have to use VGA (if that's what "PC input" denotes)
     
  12. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    That makes sense, but sucks.
     
  13. AVR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #14
    It makes sense, but it's also completely wrong :rolleyes: You don't need to use VGA at all...

    It's pretty much standard that one of the HDMI ports on the back of your TV will accept audio either via HDMI *or* via RCA. All you need to do is identify which one.

    Either read the manual, or simply look at the back of the TV. There will probably be two HDMI ports there; one of them will be on its own, and the other one should have two RCA jacks immediately adjacent to it - this is the one you want. Plug in your HDMI and RCA cables from your Mac and away you go.
     
  14. Advance The Man thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #15
    Yep, you are correct. So I've got what I wanted, thanks!

    Except, how do you have the TV video/audio working, but turn off the iMac screen and volume?

     

Share This Page