Need 32 GB?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by nctorr07, May 27, 2009.

  1. nctorr07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #1
    Hey Everyone,

    Do I need to have 32 GB when I partition my HD? I'm planning on installing a few small programs on Windows and I think 32 GB is overkill. Am I able to make a 10 GB partition and still use an NTFS format?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    You should be fine at 10GB. Just know that you can really up the space easily later unless you use a secondary hard drive to install things on.
     
  3. wesrk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #3
    you mean increase the size of the partition?
    is this done through disk utility?
     
  4. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #4
    I used XP with ~10 GB and it ran fine. I installed everything but the OS on an external HDD. If this is for games, I know this: FSX has better performance through USB than FireWire 400.
     
  5. John89 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Nope, you have to use something like WinClone

    You use that to copy your partion to your OSX desktop (or anywhere you like really), then you delete your Windows partion with Bootcamp, create a new bigger one with Bootcamp, and them you can go back to Winclone to write the windows image to the new partion.
     
  6. wesrk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #6
    thanks for the info, I've been wondering how to do that for a little while now.
     
  7. Shawny D macrumors member

    Shawny D

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #7
    Out of the 19.8 GB of formatted space in my Boot Camp partition, Windows 7 RC x86 only takes up 9.7 GB.:D
     

Share This Page