Need a lot of help!!!!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by liljabjork, May 23, 2011.

  1. liljabjork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    I am having some problems with my iMac and i was hoping that somebody could help me.
    I was given a used iMac 2006 from my work and started using it at home, it was working slowly and kept freezing so i decided to erase ( it had snow leopard) and install tiger.
    That installation didn´t work that well, it kept saying after hours of installation that it failed, but at the end it worked and the installation was completed.
    But now the computer is even worse, it has a problem of starting, i can´t finish updating it and it keeps freezing all the time.
    Now i am thinking what could be the problem and if it would be a good idea to get it fixed, or just forget about it :(
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. liljabjork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    Now i did the hardware test, and it said no trouble found, shouldn't there come something if i had problems with my HD.
    I simply don't understand this if i go to disk utility and try to repair, it says it is ok but the computer is just not working right.
     
  4. likegadgets macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #4
    Does the machine have added RAM? If it does try removing the added RAM or if you have access to different RAM try it with that.

    I had random shut off that turned to be a bad RAM stick (that passed the hardware test)
     
  5. liljabjork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    i have actually changed the RAM, it had 2 x 2gb but i took that out and put in 2 x 1gb that i took from my MacBook, so i think the RAM is ok.
     
  6. hammten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #6
    Why did you decide to cut the ram in the imac in half? Try putting the original 4gb back in abd see if that helps, otherwise i would say hdd failure.
     
  7. liljabjork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    The reason why i changed the RAM was that the RAM that was in my MacBook was the original that came with it but the RAM that was in the iMac was not the original and i thought i was safer with the others because at least they were the original and could not be the problem.
     
  8. liljabjork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    I am also seeing now that when i go into disk utility i only see HD but i see no DVD drive.
    Shouldn't i see the DVD drive ??
     
  9. hammten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #9
    Yes, you should see the superdrive in disk utility. Does your drive accept discs and spin up? If yes, try inserting a disc and see if anything is reported in disk utility
     
  10. liljabjork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    when i inserted a cd the DVD drive came in disk utility as did the cd that i inserted.
     
  11. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #11
    I agree with HellHammer and think something is wrong with your HD. Re-do Apple Hardware Test however this time run it in Extended Mode which will take quite a bit longer but is more reliable for uncovering problems.
     
  12. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I'm wondering why you replaced Snow Leopard with Tiger... :confused:
     
  13. liljabjork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    I did the hardware test in extended but nothing wrong.

    The reason for i went from Snow Leopard to Tiger was that when i got the machine it was not working and kept freezing so my assumption was that maybe it just needed a "lighter" version that the computer could handle, but it all just came worse.
     
  14. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #14
    I don't think Tiger is "lighter" than Snow Leopard.
     
  15. liljabjork thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    ok i didn´t know that.

    But what would you recommend i would do now, if it is HD problems is it worth fixing it, all the scans i do say no problem but it has problems, it has major problems with starting up, it freezes all the time when working and it has major problems with downloading updates.

    What should i do ?????
     
  16. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #16
    Replace the HDD.
    Look here fore guides.

    I recently upgraded the HDD in my 2007 Aluminium iMac and it took less than an hour to do so.
     

Share This Page