Need a new graphics card ASAP. Which one?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by incunity, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. incunity, Oct 7, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2011

    incunity macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys/gals/Siri,

    I posted in another thread about my Mac Pro's slow demise.

    To confirm with you, these are images of what's going wrong with my Mac Pro:

    http://i.imgur.com/e9vv3.jpg , http://i.imgur.com/IbcEH.jpg, http://i.imgur.com/NHP08.jpg

    And this is what happens 4/6 times when I restart:

    http://i.imgur.com/gv2EO.jpg, http://i.imgur.com/HNAzG.jpg

    First, I want to confirm with you if it is, indeed, my graphics card.

    If so, can you help me out with what one to buy to replace it? My applecare is expired and I need something that is somewhat reasonably priced that can handle FCP/After Effects/Animating in Flash etc.

    Here are my current specs:

    http://i.imgur.com/GWnyc.png

    http://i.imgur.com/siCEb.png


    Any help would be great! Someone in the other thread said I should get this one. It made me wary because I'm not sure what an upgrade kit is. Also, I have my 42" HDTV hooked up in the back via DVI-HDMI, and used as a second monitor/movie viewing screen. Not sure if that matters at all.

    Thanks again ahead of time!

    Jon
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    Yeah, that's your GPU. The 5770 is the replacement GPU of choice right now (5870 if you feel spendy.)

    Those 8800s all have issues.
     
  3. incunity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #3
    I forgot to add that this is what was recommended to me.
     
  4. incunity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #4
    This, then, is the one you're saying I should get?

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC742ZM/A
     
  5. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #5
    Yep. Don't worry about the system requirements, it'll work in your machine.

    Don't bother with the 120. It's slower than your 8800. I have one in my machine for my second display, but I wouldn't use it for real work.
     
  6. incunity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #6
    Great! Thanks.

    It seems like the ports are different.

    Will I have to get adaptors for my two DVI plugs I have in right now? It says it has one dual DVI port.
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    Yeah, you will need a mini display port -> DVI adaptor.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
  10. incunity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #10
    Oh, wow. I wish I had seen this before ordering! I'll keep it in mind, though. :)

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page