Need a new macbook pro and have questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by team 79 krunch, Jul 9, 2008.

1. team 79 krunch macrumors member

team 79 krunch

Ok so I am 15 and need to get my first laptop for school. I have been a dedicated Mac user since I got my first computer when I was 7. I go to the Academy of Engineering at East Lake High school, (a project lead the way school!) I need to run CAD software, Autodesk Inventor, 3ds Max, and Autodesk REVIT. I am also a musician and would like to use Logic studio.

I am looking into a MacBook Pro 17". I have some questions about the configuration. Keep in mind that cost is NOT an issue for me at this point.

(1) how much difference in performance will I get if I upgrade my processor to 2.6GHz from 2.5GHz, and is it worth $250
    (2) can I put more than 4GB of RAM in my MBP, third party?
    (3) how much of a performance boost will I get by choosing the 200GB 7200 rpm hard Drive?
    (4) is the 2.6GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor with 6MB on-chip shared L2 Cache running 1:1 with processor speed a 64-BIT processor?
    (5) will a MBP even run the programs I listed above ( with boot camp running windows yuck!!!!!)
    (7) will upgrading the processor kill my battery life?
    (8) does the MBP play Blu-ray disks?
    (9) I bought iWork for my iMac G5 and I already installed it on my iMac, can I use the same disk agian on my new MBP?
    (10) Can I upgrade the Graphics card?

thanks

2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

1) Maybe a few percent, probably not noticeable.
    2) I dont think the MBPs can handle more than 4GB at all.
    3) For what you are doing, the 7200 rpm probably wont make a noticeable difference.
    4) Yes, all Core2Duo procs are 64bit
    5) Yes, get XP for bootcamp - vista will take too much power that you'll want for the CAD programs.
    6) You forgot 6
    7) It wont kill it, but it may shorten it some.