need a quick answer

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by VenomousSVT, Dec 31, 2007.

  1. VenomousSVT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1
    I didnt really find anything in search but wasnt sure what I had to search for to get my answer.

    I have a 1.1.1 OTB phone
    I jailbroke it and then upgraded to 1.1.2

    I am having a bunch of lockups, probably from tons of installing and uninstalling, and I want to restore the phone and start from scratch. Onto the question...

    if I plug the phone into itunes and hit restore will I am assuming it will restore it back to 1.1.2. If this is the case will I need to go through the downgrading process this time around to be able to jailbreak the phone? I am not sure if whatever oktoprep does will still remain with the phone after a restore.

    thanks in advance
     
  2. alecmcmahon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Woodbridge, NJ
    #2

    in your itunes folder somewhere you should be able to find the 1.1.1 restore file, i forgot the exact name or where it is, just do a quick search for the name..... if you dont have that, download the 1.1.1 downgrade file, then--- in itunes under the iphone menu, hit " OPTION KEY then CLICK " on restore, select the 1.1.1 package, and it will restore to 1.1.1


    ps, you also might need itunes ver. 7.4 for this..
     
  3. VenomousSVT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    ok so just like an 1.1.2 OTB I just restore it straight to 1.1.1?

    thanks for the heads up!

    Also, when "restoring from backup" as soon as the firmware has reloaded is it ok to pick my last backup? I am gonna stay with 1.1.1 this time around.
     
  4. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #4
    Your fine to just downgrade, install OKtoPrep, and reupgrade and jailbreak. No problem.

    Yes pick the latest backup.

    No, you cant stay at 1.1.1, because the new baseband of 1.1.2 will not allow the iPhone to activate until it is back on 1.1.2.

    Just a heads up...
     
  5. VenomousSVT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    youre the man brando.. thats EXACTLY what i needed to hear!!

    thanks again!!!
     
  6. VenomousSVT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    just an update.. i updated the phone to 1.1.2 and it registered imediately!

    thanks again brando
     
  7. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #7
    No prob, Im here if you need anything else!
     

Share This Page