need a single space 4 monitor vcard

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by filterdecay, Jul 7, 2017.

  1. filterdecay macrumors newbie

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #1
    5,1 12 core.

    Is this possible? I am wanting to add usb 3.0 capability to my computer and I need to remove 1 gt120 to do so. Does this card exists?

    Thanks
     
  2. NorCalLights macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #2
    I don't think so... not without a DualHead2Go splitter or something.

    If you go the DualHead2Go Digital SE option, you could use a Nvidia GT630: http://www.macvidcards.com/store/p80/Nvidia_GT_630_2_GB.html

    That would give you 1 monitor on DVI, 1 monitor on DP, and 2 monitors (via the DualHead2Go) on the second DP port.

    Good luck. And you could always contact the Mac Video Cards folks. They are super helpful with this esoteric stuff.
     
  3. filterdecay thread starter macrumors newbie

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #3
    Thank you. I have a email into those guys now. Looks like this is a solution.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  5. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #5
    Pascal Quadro cards not the p5000 and above though, those are dual slot. These are PC cards though so depends on your boot screen needs.

    I have no idea if there is a geforce alternative.
     
  6. filterdecay thread starter macrumors newbie

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #6
    those look great. I dont think i need bootscreens everyday. And in the event horrible things happen I can swap in a old card to see whats going on. Would the quadro p600 work? ITs cheaper. I only need the card to drive 4 1080p displays for 2d work. I assume I need to install drivers on the machine for the card?
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  8. filterdecay thread starter macrumors newbie

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #8
    Thank you. Will I see a display so I can navigate to that page or should I install the driver before installing the card?
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    For any non flashed Pascal GPU, you must install and activate the Nvidia web driver before install the card, otherwise it won't work.
     
  10. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #10
    Just out of curiosity what is taking up the other 3 pcie sockets? What is in your dual slot space?
     
  11. filterdecay thread starter macrumors newbie

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #11
    thanks everyone.

    I have an avid protools hdx2 and then 2 video cards. My 4 drives are populated with drives and I have 2 project drives that are owc mercury elites. I want to get them into higher bandwidth and larger drives.

    I also have a synology server connected via ethernet - 24tb

    I am buying the calidigit pci-e card, the new vid card and hopefully everything will go well. This is all to get off of the firewire bus and im upgrading that external project drive from 4tb to 8tb. older pic but shows my need for 4 monitors...

    [​IMG]

    new speakers:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    macpro is in a quiet box in the closet. Running a Mitsubishi mini-split ac. 20db noise from the ac unit.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 8, 2017 ---
    Oh I will update the thread for anyone in the future looking to do the same.
     
  12. rkuo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #12
    FirePro W7000 works very well and is available inexpensively used. Many variations of the FirePro and Radeon Pro have 4 DisplayPorts. Some have 6. Usually all monitors must be displayport to use all ports at once.
     
  13. filterdecay thread starter macrumors newbie

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #13
    install went great. the p600 is seamless and a big jump from the dual gt120s. Much less heat and power draw and I get usb3 for my main project disk. Thanks everyone.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Wake me when the macpro can do this again without spending thousands more on top of the computer.
     
  14. JayKay514 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #14
    Just installed a PNY Quadro P600 in my Mac Pro 2010, and using the latest Nvidia web drivers on Sierra. The only thing missing is the Apple boot screen (that I can tell) but everything works flawlessly. And the card is so much smaller than the original Radeon 5770, it's almost like 25% of the previous volume. This is the most affordable Nvidia Pascal card that will give you 4 DisplayPort outputs in a single slot. (Got it for just under $300 CDN on Amazon.)

    Two notes when swapping out the card:
    1. Remember to move the fan back into position afterwards (this engages the locking bar at the bottom of the card), otherwise you'll hear buzzing and vibrating.
    2. When reinstalling the backplate hold-down bar with the two spring-loaded screws, be sure that one end slides under the small tab, otherwise the card backplates won't be held down properly. If you want better stability, you can still use individual screws, but be careful not to drop them inside the Mac.
     
  15. filterdecay thread starter macrumors newbie

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #15
    hey thanks for your response. I put the same card in. Its working well. small low power low heat. Everything I need in a workstation video card.
     
  16. JayKay514 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #16
    Awesome! Thanks to everyone in the thread BTW, this tipped my decision to purchase it. Been a bit jealous of the options available for Windows (like the NVS 510s and FirePro W4xxx series), this frees up a slot... now debating what to put in there. SSD, maybe a UAD DSP card for audio... :)
     
  17. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #17
    FYI - A trash can natively in any GPU config does 6 displayport screens in any OS.

    6x3 = 18 1080p60 screens with MST splitters in Bootcamp.
     
  18. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #18
    With the recent threads regarding issues with some pascal geforce cards, example being the 1060. How are you finding the quadro? everything fine regarding sleep functions and all those things?
     

Share This Page