Need ability to turn 4G off and use 3G

Discussion in 'iPad' started by DctrJ, Mar 27, 2012.

  1. DctrJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    My iPad can't connect on 4G in many locations where my iPhone 4 on 3G connects without a problem. My iPad does not "revert to 3G" it just continues to show 4G with no signal and I have to get out my iPhone to access data I need. I realize these are two distinct signals and wish I could turn 4G off or 3G on. I had my SIM card replaced just on the outside chance it was defective. What do you wise people think?
     
  2. Tortri macrumors 6502a

    Tortri

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #2
    I'm assuming you went under Settings/Cellular Data and Turned off "Enable LTE" correct?
     
  3. iMaven macrumors 6502

    iMaven

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #3
    You can turn off LTE in settings under cellular data. If you're on AT&T, I don't know if 4G is included when turning off LTE.
     
  4. MrXiro macrumors 68040

    MrXiro

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    If you have an AT&T iPad it denotes it's hspa+ as "4g" even though it is 3G. It is noted as LTE if you are on "true" 4g. Your iPad will never say 3G.
     
  5. DctrJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #5
    There is no LTE in my area on AT&T but the whole area is covered by 4G. I turned LTE off. If I don't I can't get any signal. You would think if I can't get a 4G signal it would revert to 3G (hspa+) and connect with a strong signal like my iPhone.
     
  6. chillstatus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    The previous poster just told you that 4G for AT&T is actually 3G. They renamed it (if you update your iPhone to 5.1, it will show 4G as well).
     
  7. number84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #7
    I'm in Canada and I have "Enable LTE" on, but revert to 3G just fine since I'm not in an LTE area 99% of the time. And it does say "3G" in the status bar.
     
  8. DctrJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #8
    Interesting.
     
  9. SgtBullmoose macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    #9
    Canadian Ipads say 3g even when on HSPA+
     
  10. Jessemtz25 macrumors regular

    Jessemtz25

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
  11. GraphicsGeek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #11
    Update your iPhone to 5.1 and it'll show 4G as well. Like others have said, AT&T brands HSPA+ as 4G when it's actually the top of the 3G spectrum. They did this because T-Mobile did theirs that way first. Your iPad and iPhone are using the exact same network so technically there shouldn't be a reason why your iPad isn't getting a signal while your iPhone does.

    Edit: Actually come to think about it, if you have an iPhone 4 and below, it'll always say 3G. Only the iPhone 4S is HSPA+ ("4G") compatible.
     
  12. DctrJ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
  13. Hydroflux macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    #13
    Yep! And occasionally "eh"
     
  14. MrXiro macrumors 68040

    MrXiro

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    Your iPhone 4 is on hspa with no "+" which is what AT&T calls 3G. Your AT&T iPad will never say "3G".
    If you get less bars on your iPad that means the radio on the iPad isn't as receptive as your iPhone's. Since its a new chip it is possible that your 3G/fake 4g is not as receptive on your new iPad as it was made to be more power saving and LTE. This is only theoretical though. I am not an engineer.

    There is also the possibity that hspa and hspa+ aren't on the same frequency. I think this is what you're asking in which case I don't think the AT&T devices drop down to hspa. My iPhone 4S goes straight down to EDGE from 4G. Never 3G.
     

Share This Page