Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fosteram2

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 24, 2020
Hello,
I am an artist that has been out of commission for a number of years and I am looking to get back into my work with is based in painting and photography/digital media. My Mac book is now broken. I honestly don’t even know what kind I had other than it was the top of the line you could buy in 2009. I’m looking for some advice on what I should buy. I am looking for a Mac to use photoshop mostly. Only in 2D. I will sometimes use Lightroom and illustrator. But my work is on a large scale so high quality is key. I so appreciate any advice and laments terms is great. I’m a bit clueless.

Mr.Blacky

Cancelled
Jul 31, 2016
Is Photoshop a necessity?
If not, did you consider an iPad (Pro) + Apple Pencil with Affinity Photo and Procreate?

theSeb

macrumors 604
Aug 10, 2010
none
You are in Mac Pro section. Are you looking to spend $6000 on the base spec Mac Pro, or where you looking for something more affordable? What is your budget?

minifridge1138

macrumors 65816
Jun 26, 2010
The Mac Pro is a desktop computer (think big box you plug a monitor into).
The Mac Book Pro is a laptop.

But to discuss you question, if you’re looking for a Mac for photoshop, then I think any Mac Apple makes today will run it well. I’d figure out your budget first and go from there.

Last edited:
Reactions: OkiRun

OkiRun

macrumors 65816
Oct 25, 2019
Japan
The Mac Pro is a desktop computer (brink big box you plug a monitor into).
The Mac Book Pro that is a laptop.

But to discuss you question, if you’re looking for a Mac for photoshop, then I think any Mac Apple makes today will run it well. I’d figure out your budget first and go from there.
I think if he needed a Mac Pro, he would know it. Agree that any of the current Apple notebooks will do what he needs.

Moonjumper

macrumors 68030
Jun 20, 2009
Lincoln, UK