Need Advice on Best MacPro Specs for Editing HD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Kinected2U, Jan 21, 2013.

1. Kinected2U macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm looking for some help on trying to figure out the best specs for a Mac Pro to edit HD video.

The last time I purchased a Mac Pro I was a freshman in college getting a Film degree and after spending most of my days in the editing lab I asked my instructor to advise me in purchasing a computer so I could edit at home. Flash forward 5 years and I'm working for myself now and looking to upgrade and could use some guidance.

I edit mostly on FCP and After Effects but do use Adobe Premiere as well.

1) My first decision is deciding between a Quad-Core and a 12-Core. Will this effect the speed at which my computer renders my work?

2) Is a Two 3.06GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (12 Cores) faster than a One 3.33GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon and if so is it worth the almost $2000.00 upgrade?

3) I was thinking 32GB would be enough memory but just wondering what others have experienced or would recommend?

4) Going with 512SB SSD, a friend recommended that I get 2 but I honestly don't know if it's worth the money? Thoughts?

5) Graphics: better to go with, Two ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB, or One ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB.

6) Lastly, is the best choice for a monitor an Apple Display or are there just as good or better displays out there?

I really appreciate any and all feedback. I am a really good video editor but when it comes to tech specs I'm really lacking in the knowledge department and I'm looking to educate myself. Also if there are any good websites to learn/understand these things better I would greatly appreciate that as well. Thank you!

Peace,
    Kinected Productions

2. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

JesterJJZ

Fastest thing you can afford.

Not trying to BS an answer, just being honest. One SSD for boot is fine.

3. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey