Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Brm-G

macrumors member
Original poster
May 5, 2011
Hey everyone,

due to a very nice deal I can make, 449 euro for the basis model, I came up with the plan of buying a Mac Mini.

Here's my current situation. I have a MBA (2011) which is my only computer. THe problem is I run out of storage for my movies all the time. I have a external hard-drive where I put my movies on as soon as my downloads have finished. The movies I download are mainly 1080p MKV's. I also have a Apple TV 3 which I hardly use because it can't play my MKV's 'out of the box'.

On my MBA I run a plex server to watch movies on my external display. The problem is I don't want to sit behind my desk when watching movies, I want to do this on my TV when sitting on the sofa. Therefore I now convert my movies so I can watch them with my ATV, but this is getting pretty annoying. I don't like to connect my MBA to the TV either.

Therefore I was planning to buy a Mac mini. I will upgrade this mac mini with a second HDD and will probably also connect another external drive. I sort of want this mac mini to become a server in my house.

Now I have the following questions:
- If the Mac Mini is on, is it possible to connect to the Mac Mini and copy movies to my MBA when I am not at home, or access files from another location (at my parents house or at school for instance)? I know it is possible with file sharing when i'm at home..
- Is it possible I use the same external drive for backups of my MBA and Mac Mini when connecting this to my mac mini?

Thanks in advance.

I had a lot more questions when I started typing this thread...-_- I will post them as soon as I remember them.

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008