Need advice on iMac G3 troubles

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zhyla, Nov 27, 2011.

1. zhyla macrumors newbie

Ok, so I snagged a Bondi Blue iMac G3, the "B" version (6 MB VRAM -- woot!) at a garage sale yesterday for $5. Brought it home, fired it up, OS9.1 boots up fine. It's got 160 MB of RAM.

I should at this point mention that I've never used a PPC Mac before. I've got a Mac Mini and other than dropping in new RAM I really know nothing about Mac's in general. Which is why I'm here.

Today I got the bright idea to drop in a different hard disk with the idea of installing Ubuntu on it to play around with, or possibly OS X 10.3. Couldn't seem to get any of the old drives I had lying around to work (not terribly surprising) so I finally put the original 4 GB drive back in and now it boots up but the screen never comes on. I hear sounds and caps lock works and the hard disk whirs and clicks, but no screen. But sometimes it turns on and nothing happens at all. In either case the power light stays orange.

I did press the CUDA reset button on the mainboard a few times while I had it open. I did this with the power off, dunno if that does anything. And also I should mention that the internal battery probably isn't working, it wasn't holding date/time across a reboot back when it was working.

This is all a big bummer cause I got it for my 2 year old to play with and she's in love with it. I should have just left it alone.

TL;DR: it used to work, I pulled the HD out and put it back in and now the screen won't turn on and the power light stays orange.

2. tom vilsack, Nov 27, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011

tom vilsack macrumors 68000

tom vilsack

-when you used other harddrives could you boot comp to try and install osx? (osx on these has to install in first 8 gig..so you must partition first aprtition below 8 gigs and place osx on that partition)