Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Patriks7

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 26, 2008
Vienna
Hey guys. After a couple years with my Casio point and shoot, I have decided to step my game up a bit and go for either a DSLR or a super-zoom. But after going through a couple review sites, I am OVERWHELMED by the choice of cameras and lenses. So I am hoping someone here could help me answer the following questions and get me some advice on which direction to go.

First, I have only used a DSLR and a super-zoom in a store. Not really any "real-world" experience. I am also a hobby photographer, and I am not planning into go into anything professional.

So what exactly is the difference between a DSLR and a super-zoom? From what I understand, the super-zoom has a fixed lens, which should be "OK" in most cases. Is that right?

Can anyone explain to me exactly what the differences between lenses are? Because the number I found is really overwhelming and I was not able to figure out the differences and uses.

So what I plan to shoot: practically, everything. From friends/family to sports to animals to architecture. Any advice on what would fit me better? DSLR or super-zoom?

I am planning on staying in a 1000 Euro budget AT MOST, so I want something that will fit my needs above. I have currently been looking at some Canon's, Nikon's and Sony's, as I heard they tend to be a better choice for beginners. After looking at some models, with my limited knowledge, I am going more towards Canon, mainly due to their super-zoom being superior according to many reviews (SX1 and SX10) and their DSLRs have many more lenses from what I saw.

So, guys, please help a lost noobie!

P.S. - please don't make this into a Canon vs Nikon vs Sony vs .... thread, that is not my objective.

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)