Need advice on RAID 10

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BG-Mac, Apr 29, 2009.

1. BG-Mac macrumors 6502

Alright so I've got my mac pro Quad 2.96 on order and want to get all of my Hard Drives ordered and ready to go once it arrives. My primary uses are going to be Photoshop CS4, Dreamweaver CS4, inDesign CS4, Aperture 2, Amateur Photography, and iTunes Storage/Serving.

How do you all feel about going with a RAID 10 setup? I would be using 4 1TB WD Blacks if I went this way. It seems like it would be nice and simple and protect me from a drive failure. I'm fairly new to RAID so I may be totally off in my assumptions. Thanks in advance for the advice.. :):apple:

2. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

CaptainChunk

Well first of all, doing an internal RAID-10 would occupy all 4 internal HDD bays (2 drives for the primary stripe, 2 drives for the mirror stripe). As a Photoshop user, you'll want to dedicate a totally separate volume to use a scratch disk for the best performance. You wouldn't be able to do this (at least internally) with a RAID-10 setup. In other words, your boot volume alone would be hogging 4 physical drives.

While having data redundancy is nice, it's still no substitute for a good backup strategy. Whatever you do on the primary stripe (add/move/delete) will be done to the mirrored stripe.

3. BG-Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

What would you suggest I'm open to pretty much anything? Thanks for the response.

4. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

nuckinfutz

If there's a way to leverage the second optical drive connection and use that for a SSD to Boot from you'd have the ideal solution.

80GB Intel SSD for Boot drive and
    RAID 10 WD Black drives for mass storage.

RAID 10 would give you good redundancy and good writes.

I'll search and see if this is plausible at all.

Here's some stuff

http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/IDE/SSD_in_Mac_Pro/SSD_install_in_MacPro.htm

5. BG-Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

Good stuff. Thanks!

6. VirtualRain macrumors 603