Need advice on replacing my iMac & MacBook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by drjeffsykes, Sep 27, 2013.

1. drjeffsykes macrumors newbie

I'm a college mathematics professor looking to update my work computing system in two steps and would like some advice on what the new setup should look like. Here's my current setup:

Work:
    13" MacBook bought new in spring 2008
    20" iMac bought new in summer 2008

Home:
    25" iMac bought new in summer 2009

I use SugarSync to keep my documents folder in sync between the two work computers and a work user account on my home iMac. I prefer the larger screen and the full-sized keyboard, so most of my work is done on the two iMacs. I use the MacBook primarily (a) in the classroom to display presentations in keynote and demo web-based software, (b) at home when I don't want to go downstairs to work on the iMac, and (c) very occasionally when I'm on the road for a conference (maybe once a year).

The bulk of what I do with the machines for work is focused on document preparation and revision, primarily word processing (LaTeX, Word, and Pages) and spreadsheets (Excel and Numbers). There's also a substantial amount of emails and web-browsing.

The MacBook is very long in the tooth and needs replacing. I have funds for this and can do so at any time. I should also be up for a refresh on my iMac next summer, so I expect to replace it at that time. The home iMac will likely be my only home machine for several more years.

I'm considering three options:

1) Get a new iMac when I'm up for refresh next summer. Replace the MacBook with a new iPad as soon as the 5 is released.

2) Get a new iMac when I'm up for refresh next summer. Replace the MacBook with a new MacBook air asap.

3) Replace both the MacBook and the iMac with a new MacBook Pro (don't need retina for my work) and external monitor next summer.