Need advice on whether a 13" Air is enough for my needs

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ltpco, Jun 1, 2015.

1. ltpco, Jun 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

ltpco macrumors newbie

I'm a research freelancer. I do a ton of online research, work mostly creating Excel spreadsheets and Word documents. Thing is, I have a lot of them (6+ years' worth, several hundreds) and will only be creating more. My dearly loved 2009 MacBook Pro is, I think, about to go. I think the battery is getting too hot or something. Business hasn't been great thanks to the recession but is picking up and I can't afford to be down with a crashed laptop. I'm thinking about purchasing an Air even though I don't travel much. It just seems to be the most affordable. I don't have a lot of photos, no videos, don't game at all and infrequently stream movies. If I choose all the upgrades, a new 13" Air costs close to $2000 (w/ the protection plan and a One to One subscription - needed so they will transfer all my files). I do have a great Mac expert near me if I need repairs or service so maybe could do without the $249 protection plan which would help decrease cost. Any advice would be dearly appreciated on which upgrades are need-to-have if I only do lots of online research, Excel spreadsheets and Word docs. Thank you! P.S. Did try to research this. Read reviews and comparisons, buyers guides here and elsewhere but didn't quite seem to get the info/answers I need.

2. estabya macrumors 6502

estabya