Need advice on which Mac to get

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by I Like Apple Computers, Nov 13, 2016.

1. I Like Apple Computers macrumors newbie

Hey everyone!

I'm looking to upgrade my Mid 2012 MacBook Air (128gb, 8gb RAM, 1.8gHz i5).

I am a student and will be using the computer primarily for note taking, microsoft office, web-surfing, watching movies, and maybe the occasional editing.

I am heavily looking into the new MacBook pro as I would love to buy new technology and want a new form factor (the 12" MacBook is just too small and too underpowered for my liking).

The biggest dilemma I am facing is trying to justify the purchase of the 13" with or without the touch bar. I like the functionality of the touch bar, but am not sure if the extra $300 price tag is worth it for my needs. The extra speed bump, and the extra two ports really doesn't concern me as i probably will not be using them.

In the end, I plan on selling the computer after 5 years. Do you guys think it is worth it to buy it with or without the touch bar with resale value in mind 5 years from now?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Brammy macrumors 65816

The base MBP also has a 15w CPU vs a 29?w CPU, so you're better off getting the touch bar one.

3. Deanster macrumors regular

The Touch Bar version should probably hold value a bit better over the long run, but it's a wide-open guess whether it's enough of a difference to spend the money now.

For your needs, there won't be much difference in terms of real performance, but IMHO the price/performance ratio of the touchbar version is better - you get a LOT more performance for a little more money. Plus a touchbar. :)

Have you actually tried the 12" MacBook?