Need advice purchasing new MBP.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Echoblue, Nov 30, 2009.

1. Echoblue macrumors newbie

I am in need of a new laptop. I am looking at purchasing a MBP 15", but not sure how to configure it. I am thinking 2.53 GHz, 320gb serial drive @7200, and 4gb sdram. I work as a graphic designer, so I typically run many of the adobe suite applications: photoshop, illustrator, indesign. Does this configuration sound right or should I go with something different. I don't really understand GHz, or 5200rpm vs 7200rpm, so maybe I have to little or not enough of something. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

Tomorrow

GHz is the clock speed of the processor. If you're running processor-intensive tasks (rendering, calculations, etc.) a faster processor is better.

The HD you listed will likely suit you just fine. A 7200 rpm drive is somewhat faster than a 5400 rpm drive, but will use just a bit more battery.

If you're going to be doing graphic design, that machine should suit you just fine, although you might consider either the 17", or the 13" and an external monitor, if screen size is important to you.

3. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

Wait until January/February is the best advice anyone can give.

4. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

Badger^2

i agree

Thats good advice.

Any Mac made in the last several years is more than enough for your needs.

I run the entire Creative Suite + Quark 8 + 3 browsers + everything else you need to run a design studio with a 2.4 ghz Core 2 Duo.

Do you really need the portability?

Do you have a budget?

5. Echoblue thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the quick replys.