Need Advice to get Mac security camera working

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jaydP, May 13, 2009.

  1. jaydP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #1
    I purchased a Panasonic BL-C131 mini-security camera (to monitor my garage from where I have had several minor thefts). It officially only runs with Windows but web searches suggested it could be made to work with Mac. But I can't get it to do so--and any help would be very appreciated.

    Camera specs are available: http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-BL-C131A-Network-Camera-Wireless/dp/B000NVR9SM

    I have an iMac running 10.5.7
    I am connected using Ethernet using DHCP/ IP address 192.168.2.2, subnet mask 255.255.255.0

    I have tried connecting to the camera (with default IP address of 192.168.1.253) via my router and directly--neither picks up anything.

    I fear I'm not a Mac expert and am at wit's end & about to return the camera. This posting is a cry for help
     
  2. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #2
    When you are trying to connect to the default IP address, are you making sure your computer is on the same network? You would need to change your IP address to 192.168.1.xxx. If you computer still has an IP address of 192.168.2.xxx you won't be able to connect to it.
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  4. jaydP thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #4
    Thanks

    Greg

    Your advice WORKED!! Thanks so much. Still took a bit of fi:D:Dddling but everything is now set up and working. Wish every problem I have is solved so quickly.
     
  5. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #5
    Glad that was the problem. I really wish vendors would just turn on DHCP on devices like this instead of setting up a static IP address.
     
  6. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #6
    Does pan and tilt work with the Mac? I'm looking for something similar and would like to be able to fully control the camera features, but from what I've read on most of these "Windows-only" cameras, you can get OSX to receive a feed from the camera and that's about it.
     

Share This Page