Need advice with possible upgrades

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by scharnhorst, Jan 12, 2011.

1. scharnhorst macrumors newbie

I have a white MacBook 2007 with 2.16ghz. the software is mac os x 10.5.8. I got it a year ago from my bro who upgraded to a new macbook pro. Unfortunately I feel that the comp is slowing down a little and i'm a fairly tech savvy person i could just do some upgrades.

I've looked up how to install everything and that is simple but I need your guys' advice

which ssd? leaning towards the ocz vertex or agility 60gb ones as i've heard they are pretty good.

Ram: (figured 2gb would provide decent improvement) I like mushkin when I build PCs http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146683

Now this is truly where I am really worried. How to go about moving everything onto the new HDD. I don't have the software boot cds, I have external hdds but they are formatted to fat32 and all usb powered. Can this upgrade be done?

Thanks guys for the help, I appreciate it!

2. simsaladimbamba

Get the Snow Leopard DVD for reinstallation or get an external HDD enclosure for your old HDD to put into and boot from it after the switch (SSD/HDD) and use CarbonCopyCloner to copy the current system to the SSD, excluding the big files in your Home folder.
    I can't speak for the RAM, but the Vertex II SSD is quite good and often recommended.

Then there is also MRoogle, which is a search engine for searching MR Forums and will answer some or al of your questions, as they have been asked before and will be asked again.

3. scharnhorst thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you. I have used the search engine which is how I know what to do and what seems to be decent parts for upgrades. My main issue is I haven't found a step by step guy or anything that kind of relates to my situation as it concerns to transferring info to the new hdd.