Need Assistance

Discussion in 'iMac' started by budodave, May 6, 2010.

  1. budodave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #1
    I am a Teacher with an Intel IMAC lab running OS X 10.6.3. IN the past 6 months I have had several of my IMAC's stop playing sound through the headphone Jack for external speakers and sometimes the headphones. Does anyone have any idea why? Is this a glitch with the IMAC's?

    Thanks
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    1. Are the speakers always plugged in?

    2. Are you sure they are getting to the right port?

    3. Have you adjusted the volume AFTER plugging in headphones/speakers?
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Maybe. What programs are running when the sound cuts out?
     
  4. budodave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #4
    Speakers are almost always plugged in.

    Yes, I have tried adjusting the volume levels at various times.

    Checked system preferences and the output has one choice. Internal speakers - built in output.

    It does not appear to be application specific. Mostly noticed on I-Tunes and Youtube.
     
  5. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #5
    If your speakers are plugged in and turned on and you see only this in preferences, then check to make sure they are in the right port and are inserted fully.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. budodave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #6
    Just checked.. it appears that the plug is inserted all the way. It even clicks when pushed into place. Still do not hear anything on the external speakers.

    what concerns me is that this is not the only computer that is doing it.
     
  7. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
    In my opinion, if it still says "built-in output" while a cable is plugged in:

    1. It is not plugged into the correct port
    2. The port is busted and it will not detect anything
     
  8. budodave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #8
    Seems strange that that many ports would go bad. Thats why I was wondering if it is a "glitch" or "flaw" in the systems.
     
  9. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #9
    I would try going to Disk Utility and repairing permissions, then restarting. If that does not help, create a new account and log into it and test it.
     

Share This Page