Need clock font

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by anjinha, Oct 14, 2008.

  1. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I replaced the iPhone clock font from the lock screen with a custom one. I now want to change it back but I lost my backup of the original font. Anyone know where I can find that?
     
  2. anjinha thread starter macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    I just need someone who has their original lock screen clock font to SSH into their iPhone, go to /System/Library/Fonts/Cache/ and upload the LockClock.ttf for me.

    Please.
     
  3. DaMan05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #3
    did you ever end up getting it? i can upload it if you want
     
  4. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #4
    will and iphone font work for the clock? just change the name? Like can I change the name of the neosan font 'Helvetica.ttf" to lockfont and it would work?
     
  5. DaMan05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #5
    I'm pretty sure it will not. FontSwap has been working great for me. You can change your system, clock, note and dialpad fonts with it. It's available in Cydia ;)
     
  6. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #6
    I would rather not load another app if I can just SSH it on my phone.

    So I think it would work because from what I have seen all the font ".ttf" file that are designated for the system font or the clock lock on the lock screen are the same they both include letters and text - so why wouldn't they work?
     
  7. DaMan05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #7
    You can go ahead and try it... or ask someone more knowledgeable than me I guess. You can SSH in and compare the original clock and system font files and see if they're the same.
     
  8. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #8
    You are right the font must be prepared differently !
     
  9. cualexander macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    I want the Neotech font for notes. Can I copy the one from Fontswap System Fonts over to the Notes folder in fontswap or is it a different file type?

    I'd like it to be consistent all the way around. I just didn't know if there was some reason why this wouldn't work.
     
  10. DaMan05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #10
    you wont mess anything up, go ahead and try... i doubt that it will work tho.

    what i mean by go ahead and try is try by manually replacing the notes font file, not through font swap.
     
  11. cualexander macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    ok so you are right. Apparently every font has metadata embedded and if not duplicated right will seriously screw things up. Also apparently the notes font replacement is more complex than I had thought as the neotech articles I've found on the web don't say how to do it so far.


    Unless I find the file specifically written for it, I guess I'll leave well enough alone.
     

Share This Page