Need company to install car sound system; advice please!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Kevster89, Dec 22, 2008.

1. Kevster89 macrumors regular

Kevster89

I'm planning on purchasing a nice new audio system (head unit, amps, subs, etc. - the whole lot) for my scion tc.

I know a lot about the different components (amps, subs, etc.), how to evaluate them, good vs. bad, etc. The only problem is that I have no real experience installing them.

Therefore, I want a company to possibly install all of this for me. For those of you that have had a corporation do this in the past, which one and how was your experience? Did they do a good job? Is the sound system still holding up a long while later?

I know Tweeter, Circuit City, and Best Buy performs this kind of service. Any other notable corporations that do as well?

Any recommendations/advice/guidance/stories are all appreciated.

Thanks everyone! :D

2. garybUK Guest

garybUK

Might be useful to include your location; i'm guessing by the fact it's a Scion? and you reference Bestbuy etc your somewhere in the USA (We don't have Scion here).

Because when i did this to my Ford Fiesta, the local smaller car audio shops were a LOT better than the big chains like Halfords. They can usually offer better equipment and generally know what they are doing more than the chains.

If you want decent amp's you'd need new wiring from your battery, maybe even a bigger alternator, good fuses etc. etc.

3. Kevster89 thread starter macrumors regular

Kevster89

Great point about including the location haha! I suppose that would help.

Chicagoland area. Therefore, if anyone in or around (suburbs) Chicago has had a sound system professionally installed, let me know who did the work and how it is holding up today.

4. InvalidUserID macrumors 6502a

InvalidUserID