Need Dummies guide to networking Mac/PC/PS3

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vim147, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. vim147 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #1
    Does anyone have any guides so that i can network my Mac/PC Laptop & PS3?

    I want to mainly be able to access my movies/mp3s onto my PS3 from my Mac and PC.
     
  2. musty345 macrumors regular

    musty345

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Try PS3 Media Server, it's free, and all you do is download and install it on your mac/pc, set which folders can be accessed and then you're done.

    All your stuff will be accessible through your PS3. There'll be a little PS3 Media Server icon underneath music/videos/photos etc.

    It's really good :)
     
  3. vim147 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #3
    Does this program also let me share between Mac and windows 7 laptop ?
     
  4. musty345 macrumors regular

    musty345

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I don't think so no. It might be worth setting up an external hard drive with your router so you can access those files from all of your machines.

    Sorry I can't be of more help :/
     
  5. vim147 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #5
    Hi been mucking about with it right now. I can now access my pc shared files from my mac but i cant seem to access my mac files from pc. the win 7 pc keeps asking for network password when i try to connect to mac. i dont know what my network password is.
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
  7. vim147 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #7
  8. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #8
    You don't know the password to your own Mac? Is this a Mac on your company system?
     
  9. vim147 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #9
    It'd my home Mac mini. I know my login password that I have when I boot up lion. But its not working on the laptop.
     
  10. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #10
    Make sure that Windows isn't trying to put a domain/workgroup in front of the username. I believe the link says "Use other credentials."
     

Share This Page