need external backup and raid advice?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by maldoror, May 31, 2009.

  1. maldoror macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #1
    i've got a new macbook pro and need an external drive to back it up and for extra storage.
    i'd like 2tb. is a raid array in an external enclosure only the two drives backing each other up? or is it also for speed in accessing data?
    i've been looking at owc drives, but i'm still trying to understand what raid does. i can't afford to get a redundant drive..i need to use all the space i can afford.
    thanks for any advice.
    maldoror
     
  2. ncmason macrumors regular

    ncmason

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    #2
    You just got a huge external hard drive, 2 terabytes — do you really need RAID?
    If you want to use RAID, you are correct in that you will have to get more hard-drives.
    Read this article for a better explanation of RAID:

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2249572,00.asp
     
  3. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #3
    Wiki

    Depends on what you want. Speed, or Data security, or both. Two drives will get you one of the two. I would go for data security since i have a lot of movies i have ripped and don't want to go thru the process again.

    Make sure the drives are the same make and model, and size.
     
  4. maldoror thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #4
    if i build a raid 0 will i lose everything if one fails?
     
  5. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #5
    Depends on how big the files are. Since you are chopping them up and putting them in different locations the chances of data loss is higher.

    Why not RAID 1? One fails you replace that one and rebuild it.
     
  6. maldoror thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #6
    if i get 2 1tb hdds for raid 1 does that mean i only have 1tb of storage?
     
  7. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #7
    Correct. You are making a clone of the data.
     
  8. maldoror thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #8
  9. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
    #9
    The Seagate 1.5TB are nice. I'm running 2 of them and have been running good on my mini server.
     
  10. maldoror thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #10
    i've read bad things about seagate...
    what are some other good drives? i'm trying to get 2 1tb drives for about $100 each and an enclosure for around $100 as well.
    i also read some drives were set up not to work with raid so you have to spend more to buy their raid drives...i think wd.
    also, what are the model numbers of the better drives?

    thanks
     
  11. maldoror thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009

Share This Page