Need Feedback Re Mac Purchase

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by terifc, Apr 26, 2008.

1. terifc macrumors newbie

I've had a Dell for several years, which crashed recently (have never had problems up until now, though know that many others have) and I'm searching a new computer. For my budget, I'd be purchasing the iMac, probably 20", but if it made a big enough difference would consider the 24".

I will be using the computer for basic stuff (word processing, spreadsheets, accounting, powerpoint, etc.- nothing heavy duty) and more importantly for photography and want specs that will provide enough speed and hard drive space. I'm thinking of upping the Ram to 4 GB, the 20" comes with 250 HD. It also comes with 128 media card - do you think this is enough? I'm just getting into digital photography, and not into editing my photos yet, but will be.

Here are my questions / concerns. Would love to have your feedback:

- Are the specs I listed above sufficient? And is it worth it to spend the extra $ on the 24" screen? (It did look quite beautiful in the store.)

- Is the 128 media card sufficent for working with photos? If not, can I upgrade it?

- Is this a good time to buy? I read a couple of things on this site that alluded to Mac coming out with something new (new model? update? revisions? Don't know if this was old or new news).

- The screen glare: I could see my face reflected back to me when I was in front of and found it somewhat annoying. Is this something you get used to or does it remain an annoyance? (I saw something posted on this site about a Matte option for the screen. Does one truly exist?)