Need for Speed Carbon: Black Screen

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Genghis Khan, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    I finished exams and decided to, finally, install and open Need for Speed Carbon on my iMac (C2D 2.13GHz, 1GB RAM, ATi X1600).

    Installed it without a hitch, and then clicked the Need for Speed icon...the programs opens, sound happens, and i can skip the intro movies by pressing enter...but the screen is black...wtf:confused:

    I've looked around the internet...and a few people seem to be having the same problem as me, but noone has seemed to have solved it.

    This has probably been asked here before, but does anyone have any idea what's going on or how to fix it?

    :)thanks:)
     
  2. sonofmof macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    i have this problem too, but only since the upgrade to Leopard.

    Not sure which OOS version you're usign but that might help to diagnose the issue.

    I still haven't found a fix either.

    C+C3 also was broken after the leopard upgrade, but it has been patched already.
     
  3. Genghis Khan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    yeah, i'm using leopard (bought NFSC when i had tiger, but got leopard in the interim between that and installing it)

    so does that mean we have to wait for a patch...there's nothing else we can do?
     
  4. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #4
    EA Games

    It seems like all the EA Games are having issues. I wonder if they should refund everyone. It looks like a disaster.
     
  5. Genghis Khan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    really?

    damn...does that mean i have to go back to tiger to use it?...which i won't:apple:
     
  6. orredayo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #6
    just download my working config-file from HTTP://www.olivergeffken.de/config.zip

    and replace yours in User/Library/Preferences/Need for Speed Carbon

    if you don't want to replace your file completely only cahnge this part

    [d3dgl]
    "AnisotropicTextureFiltering" = "Y"
    "VertexShaders" = "Y"
    ; type of vertex shaders to use (Hardware/Software/Auto)
    ; hardware will use whatever the opengl drivers make available
    ; software will use winex software emulation (will be slow!)
    ; (has not been implemented yet!)
    "VertexShaderMode" = "H"
    "PixelShaders" = "Y"
    ; Which version of pixel shaders to attempt to use, if available
    "PixelShadersLevel" = "2.0"
    "VertexShadersLevel" = "2.0"
    ; enable software vertex blend weight support (Yes/No/Auto)
    ; provide software blending fallback if hardware support not available
    ; (has not been implemented yet!)
    ;; "SoftwareVertexBlending" = "Auto"
    ; (dev-only) Maximum number of texture stages that WineX should attempt to use (1-8)
    ;; "MaxTextureStages" = "8"
    ; (dev-only) Identify polygons under the mouse cursor
    ;; "InterceptMode" = "N"
    ; (dev-only) apply fragment translation in vertex program (No/Tex/Auto/Pos)
    ;;"FragmentOffset" = "Auto"
    ; use the fixed function over vertex shader pipeline (Yes/No/Auto)
    "FixedProgram" = "Y"
    "GLSL" = "N"
    ; (dev-only) Provide non power of two texture support using rectangle textures (Yes/No/Auto)
    ;;"RectangleTextures" = "Auto"
    "FBO" = "Y"
    "FBOCache" = "Y"
    "FBOBackbuffer" = "N"
    "DynamicVBO" = "Y"
    "IndexVBO" = "N"

    [opengl]
    ; Report a truncated list of OpenGL extensions to the application
    ;;"FixedGLExtensionBuffer" = "N"
    ; list of additions (+) or deletions (-) to the list of extensions
    ; reported when FixedGLExtensionBuffer is enabled. Note that extensions
    ; cannot be enabled if they are not supported by your video card/drivers
    ;;"GLExtensionBuffer" = "+GL_ARB_imaging,-GL_ARB_depth_texture"

    Regards,
     
  7. Genghis Khan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  8. c_schipper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #8
    Thanks orredayo, but it doesn't work for me either…
    (MacBook Pro C2D, 128MB ATI X1600, OS X 10.5.1)

    I really hope Apple/EA comes with a patch soon. Lots of people have this problem with their brand new EA game.
     
  9. c_schipper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #9
    WOW!

    I'm sorry orredayo, IT ACTUALLY DOES WORK!
    The thing is that the edited config file should be of the exact same format as the original. Your zipped config file seems to be of a different 'filetype' than the original.

    The Finder shows the difference by it's icon. The original file has a plain white icon, and the new file should also be like that. Alternatively, after pasting your code snippet and saving the file using TextEdit, the fileformat is also changed, so this doesn't work either. Now, what happens is that NFSC won't recognize this new config file and creates a default one in the same folder, just next to the edited file, with the same name. Result: still the black screen.

    The trick that did it for me was editing and saving the config file using Coda, but other text editors might work, too. Just try! After doing this, the game starts, with both audio…AND VIDEO!

    So, this is what made Need for Speed Carbon work for me on Leopard:

    1. Find the NFSC config file in User/Library/Preferences/Need for Speed Carbon (you might want to make a backup copy of the file and put that, e.g. on the desktop)
    2. Open the (original) file using Coda (I don't know about other texteditors, but TextEdit did not work)
    3. Replace the [d3dgl] and [opengl] parts with orredayo's code (see post above)
    4. Save the file (replacing the original)
    5. Run Need for Speed!
    ------
    6. If it doesn't work, check if NFSC created a new, 2nd config file in the same folder, next to the edited file. If this is the case, try to edit/save it in a different way, or using a different editor

    Happy driving guys!

    All credits to you, orredayo. Great stuff!
     
  10. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #10
    Actually, the only reason the new config file doesn't work is because it has an ending. The original config file does not have an ending. So, the only thing you must do is to open the info panel in the finder, and remove the ending. Then, replace the original config file with the new one (after you have renamed it to "config") and you should be fine.

    Thanks a lot guys. That worked for me.
     
  11. Genghis Khan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    :( still not working for me guys...i've followed each step that each of you has said, and none work...wtf?!?!?! :(
     
  12. sonofmof macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    It works like a charm Orredayo !! :)

    The NFS streets are once again my Playground



    Thanks Very Much
     
  13. dereklandon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #13
    I'm getting a different issue with the game.

    Everything runs great. I can do quick races and everything. As soon as I enter career mode;however, it'll run up until the girl starts explaining about drifters and then the game will just exit, showing a black screen and then back to the desktop. I tried the fix that you posted and the problem still persists.

    Any suggestions?
     
  14. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #14
    Actually, I shouldn't have spoken so soon, too. My problem persists. Only the logos were OK. the actual game showed a blank screen again. Where is the patch, EA?
     
  15. durtralp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #15
    FYI Need for speed carbon on Imac

    Hi,
    NFS Carbon is running on my IMac with the latest Leopard system.

    Sorry I can't help with the black screen problem other than say it can work.
    I only have 1Mb of ram also.

    Good luck
    Ralph
     
  16. AndyAP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #16
    I have this same problem, also running on a MBP 2.2. I'm running Mac OS X 10.4.10.
     
  17. itshungarian912 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #17
    I have a 2.2 MBP and I have the crashing problem too. I replaced my config file with the one suggested and it seemed to run a bit better, but it still crashes. EA has relased patches for the PC version so why aren't they helping the Mac version?? Could someone who can run the game well without crashes put up links to files that work well? Can people run this game well under leopard? If so, I'll probably just upgrade...
     
  18. itshungarian912 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #18
    Crap... I tried messing with the config file as suggested above and I copied the original file just in case. I edited them in Coda and none of the suggested changes worked (and I tried many variants). The opening came up boxy and pixelated... oddly, I could hear sound, but no video. Then I could make out the general look of the game menus, but they looked pixelated and blurry. So I plopped the original config file back and now it doesn't work!! It still has the same pixelated menus!!!! Help!!!!!!!!!
     
  19. asdasd616 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #19
    With cider ther are 2 config files, one in the .app and the other in "~/Library/Preferences/NFSC Preferences/" cider reads from the one in your library first, so remove that aswell.

    EDIT: I thought the instructions were for the file in the app, so this may not help.
     
  20. itshungarian912 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #20
    I tried copying the original config file from the NFSC DVD to the library folder and it still didn't work! I took some pictures of what im getting. Everything works great except the video, which is messed up. Oddly enough, the program had been quiting in the career mode (when the girl started talking about blockers drafters etc.), but while the graphics were messed up, i could actually complete the course with out it crashing. I would rather not do another install because I'm worried about losing my game data (btw, does anyone know which files are the game progress ones?) Anyways, here are some pictures i took of my screen:
     

    Attached Files:

  21. miha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    Thanks orredayo!

    Excellent!

    My NFSC is working again :)

    br
    -miha
     
  22. locoputo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #22
    Seeing thru this im seeing that people are still having problems with the config file of the game..
    Ive uploaded mine at
    Code:
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IS3APETP
    which you can download.. I did exactly what orredayo did with his config file, and what he said in his post, and now its working well.

    For those not sure how to use the file, download it. Make a backup copy of yours in User/Library/Preferences/Need for Speed Carbon/
    and move the downloaded file in there. Game should run normally now!

    Regards
     
  23. hermitman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #23
    I use leopard 10.5.6
    alum MACBOOK 466

    solved by using the method provided by orredayo
    Thanks

    ---------------------
    NFS10 make every image inverse and mirrored~~~~~
    I try to open the anti annalist, but it doesn`t work anyway......

    Is anyone who solve this problem??

    Thank you

    -------------------------
     
  24. tesler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #24
    same problem, did you solved it?

    HELP SAME PROBLEM, DOESNT SOLVE COPYING THE ORIGINAL CONFIG FILE
     

Share This Page