need ftp help

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by furcalchick, May 2, 2007.

  1. furcalchick macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #1
    this is my first time working with a ftp thingy, so i need some help with it to get my site online. i went with awardspace.com and got my own domain name. i need help getting my site online and getting an email account for the site set up. thanks.
     
  2. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #2
    You'll need the server, username and password for the FTP connection.

    Then you'll need an application like Transmit (other alternatives are available, I just picked my favourite) to upload the files to said server.

    Edit: You have a domain name, do you have a host i.e. someone who is prepared to host your files? Are awardspace doing that for you?
     
  3. Trogloxene macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #3
    I make most my websites in Dreamweaver, and it has a build FTP feature for uploading your sites. Most Web Page programs have this feature. Though I actually prefer Transmit to do it.

    -T
     
  4. tomoisyourgod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    My weapon of choice is Cyberduck... it's free and is simple to use

    http://cyberduck.ch/

    Supports OS X technologies suck as Bonjour, Spotlight, Keychain and of couse Applescript.

    Hope this helps...
     
  5. furcalchick thread starter macrumors 68020

    furcalchick

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Location:
    South Florida
    #5
    sorry it took so long to get back, but when i go to my site, it says currently:
    when i try cyberduck to start the ftp, it always has a disconnection and i can't seem to upload my files, no matter what i do. can someone with an awardspace account help me please?

    and my domain name is online, sorta: http://www.atlbraveslinks.com/ right now it just shows the error, but i'm trying to correct that. it's an iweb site btw.

    i got connected and got my site loaded, but i'm getting a 500 error now...can't figure that one out.
     

Share This Page