Need graphics card for my G5 with dual DVI

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by n8mac, Apr 18, 2017.

  1. n8mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    My trusty Power Mac G5 still works great and I will keep it until it dies as it runs final cut pro 5 and adobe CS 2 just fine. The problem is I want to now run two non-apple monitors, both have DVI, and my G5 still has the original geforce 5200 with ADC connector and only one DVI.

    I looked on ebay for apple graphics cards (no flashing) and I am having a hard time finding a dual DVI apple card that works in my 1.8ghz 2004 model G5. I narrowed the search to apple, AGP 8x or pro slot, G5 and all I see are DVI/ADC cards. When I search for just apple and G5 or 9600 cards I get some that say dual DVI but the pins look different than my card and they do not list exactly what apple machine the cards are for, they just give me serial numbers.

    Long story short, are their dual DVI cards for my G5 or do I need a second card for a second monitor? If so which one?

    n8
     
  2. Eriamjh1138@DAN macrumors 6502

    Eriamjh1138@DAN

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    BFE, MI
    #2
    I haven't looked, but are there reasonably priced ACD to DVI adapters available?

    ADC is just DVI plus 28V for power & USB signals, isn't it? An adapter can leave those out and not even need any active electronics.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    ???

    We have a 1.8Ghz (single) PowerMac G5 at work that we got in February 2005. Never been modified and uses the stock ADC/DVI card. It's been running non-Apple DVI monitors since 2006 or so. Simple ADC/DVI adapter that was included in the shipping box.

    Just saying.

    12-116-204-02.jpg
     
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Offhand, Radeon 9650, Radeon 9600 Pro PC&Mac, and Geforce 6800 Ultra.

    Or use one of the adapters shown above.
     
  5. n8mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    Sorry my bad, you guys are right. I mixed up the ADC to DVI adapter with the expensive DVI to ADC adapter that has the power brick. I feel dumb now LOL. I don't have this adapter but will look on ebay for it.

    Thanks
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    No worries!

    The difference is that the converter (A1006, I have three of them) is mainly for systems other than G5s.

    Adapter should be fairly cheap.
     
  7. dustinschings macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #7
    Even the adapters you were thinking of have come down a bit in price. Last I looked a few weeks ago they could be had (in USA) for around $35. If you're in a pinch or really want to use your old Cinema Display, this isn't too bad.
     
  8. n8mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    No need for that adapter here as I no longer have an Apple monitor.

    Turns out after a search on ebay I found only one ADC to DVI adapters and it was for $40. So I ended up buying a geforce 6800 ultra 256mb for $50 and it works like a charm.
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    Yeah, unfortunately they seem to be a bit harder to find now.

    I can remember going to a local Fry's Electronics and they were being sold for $25.

    Of course that was 2005-2006, so 11-12 years ago. A lot has changed.
     
  10. dustinschings macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #10
    Damn, I didn't realize I was sitting on a hot commodity! I'd offer it up to somebody but I know as soon as I do, I will need it..
     

Share This Page