Need help! 13inch vs 15inch Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by thejeff, Sep 16, 2012.

1. thejeff macrumors newbie

Hey there, I am a second year college student. I am probably going to be majoring in something in regards to video production and stuff like that. I enjoy video editing from time to time, although I have stopped because my current computer makes it miserable.

Mostly I am on Facebook, doing homework. I currently have a 2008 unibody Macbook, but it is on its way out. I am trying to decide between a new 13 inch Macbook Pro and a 15inch Macbook pro (antiglare).

Here are the concerns I have for each

13inch Macbook Pro (i7): Same resolution as on my current Macbook, and it seems kind of dated and fuzzy. The better resolution on the 15 inch might make reading school things on my computer more pleasant and cause less eyestrain?

15inch (base model antiglare): Size of the overall computer. I am at college, so I will most likely be carrying around my computer. Although, it depends on my classes. Will it be too heavy and take up too much space?

Any help or suggestions would be great.

2. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k

I have a 2008 Macbook and I've been very tempted by the closeout of October 2011 Macbook Pros available at Microcenter for $500 off the antiglare model and $600 off the regular model.

I would not want to carry around a 5+ pound computer but I take my iPad to classes and meetings so I'm not worried about carrying the MBP. If you plan to carry it to classes, I suggest you consider the 13 in model or even the MBA. A better solution would be to get the 15 in model AND an iPad to take to classes.