Need help accessing iPod filesystem

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by phatqao, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. phatqao macrumors member

    phatqao

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    PA and/or NYC
    #1
    I'm working on a program (now in BASH, soon to be in Perl) that will provide an interface for ripping the music from an iPod to one's computer. The code I've used so far works just great for older iPods (2008 shuffle and fifth-gen iPod) - that is, the ones that show up on the desktop when plugged in via USB. With newer models, though, such as the iPod touch, the iPod is shown in the iTunes sidebar and i can add and delete songs as normal; they are not displayed on the desktop, or anywhere in finder for that matter. Even upon using the terminal and listing the hidden contents of the /Volumes directory, the iPod touch does not appear.

    If this is at all helpful, all iPods are displayed on the Ubuntu desktop when i mount them on my Ubuntu machine, and are easily rippable on that OS.

    My question is: why are newer models of iPod not shown in the /Volumes directory, and how can I access their files using the terminal or otherwise?

    Thanks!
    ___________
     
  2. seepel macrumors 6502

    seepel

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #2
    Do iPod touches work in Ubuntu? I thought the iOS type devices had an encrypted library...
     
  3. phatqao thread starter macrumors member

    phatqao

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    PA and/or NYC
    #3
    yes, am running Ubuntu Lucid Lynx 10.04 and i'm able to easily rip from my 2nd-gen iPod touch - that is, the iPod icon appears on the desktop when i plug it in, and i can navigate unhindered to the iTunes_Control/Music directory, grab some files, and copy them to my disk.

    does anyone know how to allow this type of behavior in mac OS X snow leopard? (in finder or terminal, it makes no difference to me)
     
  4. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #4
    I think the way Ubuntu works is through some type of security hole. I thought MR had an article on it but I couldn't find it. Either way there is no out of-the-box way to do this on OS X. Most apps use the private MobileDevice framework.
     

Share This Page