Need Help/Advice on buying an Apple notebook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mra1989, Jun 13, 2010.

1. mra1989 macrumors member

Ok let me start off by saying that I've yet to have an apple computer. I have had an iPhone ever since the release of the 3G. I love apple products thus far and I'm looking to purchase a laptop before I transfer to a 4 year university next year. I have a toshiba laptop now that my parents bought me when I graduated high school in 2007. Don't get me wrong the laptop was a nice gesture and it fulfilled it's purpose, but the notebook isn't in the least bit portable. Here's what I am looking for in a prospective notebook:

PORTABILITY
    decent memory
    reliable functioning
    don't need 3D graphics, but at the same time I want something that's easy on the eyes
    It's primarily going to be for note taking, iTunes, and general research via internet.
    Not a gamer.

At first glance, I love the air. I've tinkered with it on several trips to the apple store, so I'm biased. What would your suggestions be for me given the information I've listed. Thanks

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Air is great and the most portable but it lacks too many things, e.g. only 2GB RAM, only 5-hour battery life, only one USB etc, not forgetting the amazing trackpad MacBook and MBPs have.

I would either wait till MBA update or just jump for 13" MBP, it's VERY portable

3. peapody macrumors 68040

peapody

+1

Seems pretty obvious.

I will say though..I had the air for about 1 week (RevA was getting too hot for me). I dearly miss the keyboard, trackpad and how low it sat to the desk. It was sooo comfortable to use compared to my macbook pro.

4. mra1989 thread starter macrumors member

While I understand about all of the things the air lacks, I'm not in much need of too many of those extras. With that being said is there any word thus far concerning what the next update/version of the air will have?