Need help BIG time! (iMac DV)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sverkel, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. Sverkel macrumors regular

    Sverkel

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    I have an iMac DV which should have Tiger. I got it with Jaguar and I just tried to install Tiger on top, but it would not. It said something about a firmware that was wrong.

    I have since then tried to feed it with both Panther, OS 8 and OS 9 but there is nothing that works.

    When I start it up comes just one folder up with a "?" and a Finder icon. I've tried to keep the "C" key to boot the discs I have, but it does not work. I have also tried to hold "ALT" key which then comes an image with 2 buttons. One is a reload button and the other is a button which is a "-->"

    Is there anyone who knows what I can do and what might be wrong with the machine since it does not install any of it I try.

    Really need help: (
     
  2. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    yes you need firmware version 4.1.9

    http://www.apple.com/support/imac/g3/

    and you need OS 9.1 or OS 9.2 to get it

    so you need to install OS 9 first
    and to do that you need to hold down the c key before you press the start button until you see the smily face ,
    and you know it boots from the cd when it tells you on the screen CD you have to be patient , it does not always work straight away took me 5 or 6 attempts on the last imac g3 before it thought "oh there is a cd in my drive and he is holding down the c key ..does he eventually want me to boot from it "


    To use Mac OS X v10.4, your Macintosh needs:

    * A PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor
    * Built-in FireWire
    * At least 256 MB of RAM
    * DVD drive (DVD-ROM), Combo (CD-RW/DVD-ROM) or SuperDrive (DVD-R) for installation
    * At least 3 GB of free disk space; 4 GB if you install the XCode 2 Developer Tools


    but panther runs faster on the iMac g3 models ,
    but it helps if you really want to use tiger to disable spotlight and dashboard
     
  3. Sverkel thread starter macrumors regular

    Sverkel

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    I see... How long am I going to hold down the "C" ?

    What format shall the disc be in before it is bootable? Does it work with an DMG or should it be an ISO file? Or can I just load all the drivers on to a CD and burn it that way?
     
  4. Sverkel thread starter macrumors regular

    Sverkel

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    I got OS 9 Installed now with the new firmware.

    Now how do I install Tiger? Just try boot from the disc or what?
     
  5. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
    update firmware , then install tiger from disc
    (again it might need time to think about what you want to do when a disc is inside and you holding the c key )

    dont use the whole disc ,make a small partition for OS9 just in case you want to use classic ( with the lot loader you dont need to worry about the 8gb for osx)

    and despite it will run with 256mb ,i really recommend to upgrade at least to 512 mb for tiger more is better
    you dont need matching pairs , means you can just buy 1 module of 512 and keep 1 of your existing ones inside and replace that one later (if money is a issue)


    and here is a website dedicated to the iMac g3 http://imacworld.110mb.com/index.html
     
  6. Sverkel thread starter macrumors regular

    Sverkel

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    It works now :D

    But I did not use the "c" option but the "alt" option that gave me the option to select the HDD or the Disc.

    But it finally works :D

    Thank you to all :)
     

Share This Page