Need help building a PC that will run OSX

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by crazylegsmurphy, Nov 28, 2008.

1. crazylegsmurphy macrumors 6502

Hey All,

I'm a web developer and up until now I have been using a desktop PC and MAC to develop webpages and graphic design. I am going to be traveling soon (and working while I travel) I would like to get a laptop that will allow me to continue to test on both MAC and PC.

I was wondering if you guys could help me build a PC that will run OSX as well as possible so I can dual boot to either Windows or OSX.

Thanks!

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

3. 11800506 macrumors 65816

You don't say what your budget is, but have you considered just getting a previous gen Macbook and installing Windows on it?

4. crazylegsmurphy thread starter macrumors 6502

You don't help people buy Apple products?

My budget is really anything reasonable that will run OSX. I was going to get a new Macbook, but I don't like the glossy screen, and I don't really want to get an older machine.

5. econoline06 macrumors 6502

econoline06

You said "build a PC" that can run OS X, that violates Apples EULA. Just get a low end MacBook and put Parallels on it with XP. If you don't want to get one and don't like older machines you are SOL. "Hackintosh" computers are not only shoddy, but as I said before they violate Apple's EULA.

6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

We don't help with Hackintoshes. Get a Mac and run Windows, not the other way around.

7. mgridgaway macrumors 6502

mgridgaway

Are you sure? He's not asking you to provide him a link to a hacked copy of Leopard; I think he's just asking for tips on any laptops that are known to play well. I don't think there's any harm in that.

OP, I don't know much about hackintoshes, but there's a wealth of information over at http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page. I'd start there.

8. mgridgaway macrumors 6502

mgridgaway